12th International Conference on Data Envelopment Analysis (IDEA2014)

Organization: University of Malaya

Venue: University of Malaya

Location: Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, Malaysia

Event Date/Time: Apr 14, 2014 / 8:00 am - (GMT +8:00 hours) End Date/Time: Apr 17, 2014 / 6:00 pm - (GMT +8:00 hours)
Abstract Submission Date: Dec 15, 2013
Report as Spam


The conference will be held at the campus of the University of Malaya in Kuala Lumpur, the capital of Malaysia. The campus is located about 10 kilometers from the heart of the city. We are very pleased to extend a warm welcome and invite you to participate in the conference. Special hotel rates will be negotiated to make the conference trip budget friendly.

DEA 2014 plans to bring together scholars, researchers and practitioners interested in the development of DEA and its applications to performance management in public and private sectors. Theoretical and empirical papers on Data Envelopment Analysis (DEA) and other related fields such as econometric methods for efficiency and productivity analysis are solicited for presentation at the conference. We welcome papers on developing economies, banking, environment, education, energy, healthcare, transportation, tourism and other applications of DEA.

We also announce that ANOR (ISI, Q2 Journal) has assigned a special issue to the 12th international DEA conference 2014, Kuala Lumpur Malaysia. The lead editor of this special issue is Professor Victor Podinivski.


Petaling Jaya
Kuala Lumpur


University of Malaya
Petaling Jaya
KuaLa Lumpur

Conference Speakers

Rajiv Banker, Temple University, USA

Ali Emrouznejad, Aston University, UK

Victor Podinovski, Warwick University, UK


Additional Information

University Malaya, or UM, Malaysia's oldest university, is situated on a 750 acre (309 hectare) campus in the southwest of Kuala Lumpur, the capital of Malaysia. 

It was established in April 1949 in Singapore with the merger of the King Edward VII College of Medicine (founded in 1905) and Raffles College (founded in 1928).

The University of Malaya derives its name from the term 'Malaya' as the country was then known. The Carr-Saunders Commission, which recommended the setting up of the university, noted in its Report in 1948: "The University of Malaya would provide for the first time a common center where varieties of race, religion and economic interest could mingle in joint endeavor ... For a University of Malaya must inevitably realize that it is a university for Malaya."

The growth of the University was very rapid during the first decade of its establishment and this resulted in the setting up of two autonomous Divisions in 1959, one located in Singapore and the other in Kuala Lumpur. In 1960, the government of the two territories indicated their desire to change the status of the Divisions into that of a national university. Legislation was passed in 1961 and the University of Malaya was established on 1st January 1962.

Currently, His Royal Highness The Sultan of Perak Darul Ridzuan is the Chancellor of the University of Malaya.

Prof. Dato' Dr. Mohd Amin Bin Jalaludin was appointed as the tenth Vice-Chancellor of University of Malaya on 8th November 2013.