2013 Design Research Conference (DRC)

Organization: IIT Institute of Design

Venue: The Field Museum

Location: Chicago, Illinois, United States

Event Date/Time: Oct 08, 2013 End Date/Time: Oct 09, 2013
Early Registration Date: Aug 26, 2013
Report as Spam


In an increasingly dynamic world, professional designers are often agents of change. Designers must creatively balance many forces. They must assert confidence to advance new perspectives yet maintain a sensitive understanding of users. They must embrace and employ technology while carefully considering the impact of pervasive technology on human beings.

The 12th annual Design Research Conference hosted by IIT Institute of Design will explore design’s role in mediating these forces: Are they opposable? Synthesized? Unified? Practicing designers, artists, scientists, engineers, educators, and entrepreneurs will present a variety of perspectives on balancing multiple creative forces amidst complex systems and issues.

The Design Research Conference (DRC), hosted by IIT Institute of Design, brings together a growing community of design professionals advancing the role of design research in innovation.

The conference strives to spread knowledge through the discussion of compelling experiences and case studies, innovative methods and approaches, and the future and sustainability of design research.

This is a student-curated conference where the audience, two-thirds professionals and a third students, leaves with key takeaways: new ideas for further discussion and methods to throw into their own toolkits.


1400 S. Lake Shore Dr.
United States


IIT Institute of Design

Conference Speakers

Mickey McManus President, CEO, and Principal, MAYA Design

Matthew Clark Principal and Creative Director, Subplot Design Inc.  

John Payne Principal, Moment

Matt Jones Interaction Design Director, Google Creative Lab  Richard The Interaction Designer, Google Creative Lab   

Darlene, Damm Founder, DIYRockets  

Liz Sanders Founder, MakeTools  

Mel Lim Founder, MLD   

Liz Danzico MFA Chair, School of Visual Art  

Rhiju Das Founder, Das Lab, Stanford University  

Anne Burdick Chair of Media Design Practices, Art Center College of Design  

John Doyle John G Braun Professor of Control and Dynamical Systems, Electrical Engineer, and BioEngineering, Caltech  

Linda Pulik Founder, BaoDesignLab Siobhan Gregory Faculty, Wayne State University  

Lucy Kimbell Associate fellow, Saïd Business School, University of Oxford   

Paul Collopy Program Director for the Engineering Systems Design and Systems Science Programs, National Science Foundation   

Panos Papalambros Donald C. Graham Professor, University of Michigan   

Robert Young Professor, Northumbria University