Energy Action European Conference 2013

Organization: Energy Action

Venue: The Ballsbridge Hotel

Location: Dublin, Country Dublin, Ireland

Event Date/Time: Mar 11, 2013 / 9:00 am - (GMT) End Date/Time: Mar 12, 2013 / 5:00 pm - (GMT)
Registration Date: Mar 10, 2013
Early Registration Date: Feb 14, 2013
Report as Spam


It is estimated that 65M Europeans live in fuel poverty, which is associated

with more than 30,000 excess winter deaths in Europe per year. Despite

energy poverty being an enduring concept with widespread impact, there is

no European consensus as to how it should be defined, nor how to measure

or monitor it. Consequently, there is no common European strategy for

tackling it, and Europe-wide perspectives remain immature and disjointed. In

the current context of economic crisis, the number of households in fuel

poverty is set to continue increasing at a rapid rate. A change of scale is

needed in terms of Europe’s investment in tackling and preventing it. It is

widely agreed that this would be facilitated by enhanced communication

between existing stakeholder groups.


This conference is the first of its kind. In keeping with Ireland’s Presidency of

the EU, the conference brings together fuel poverty researchers,

policymakers, and practitioners from all over Europe, in order to seek areas

of common ground and shared understanding. The event will build areas of

consensus, raise the profile of fuel poverty, and seek ways of embedding

energy poverty within the broader rubric of EU legislation and remedial action.


Country Dublin


Energy Action
IDA Unit 4
Dublin 8
Sky Business Centre
Dublin 3

Conference Speakers

Prof. Brenda Boardman, Emeritus Fellow at Environmental Change Institute, Oxford University

Prof Christine Liddell, University of Ulster, Prof. Sharon Turner, Queens University, Gerry McGough, Energy Action, Ute Dubis, Prof of Economics ISG Paris, Prof. Stefan Bouzarovski Birmingham University, Dr. Sergio Tirado, Spain, Ryan Cleman CEO Ecolighten Energy Solutions, Pedo Guertler, Head of Research Assoc. for the Conservation of Energy, and many more.