VAMOS 2014 - The 8th International Workshop on Variability Modelling of Software-intensive Systems (VAMOS)

Organization: Université de Nice Sophia Antipolis – I3S/CNRS

Venue: Valrose campus of the Université Nice Sophia Antipolis

Location: Nice, France

Event Date/Time: Jan 22, 2014 End Date/Time: Jan 24, 2014
Early Registration Date: Jan 08, 2014
Abstract Submission Date: Oct 27, 2013
Paper Submission Date: Nov 03, 2013
Report as Spam


 8th International Workshop on Variability  Modelling of Software-intensive Systems (VAMOS)

22-24 January, Sophia Antipolis, Nice, France   


Important Dates


- Abstract Submission: 27 October 2013 23.59 UTC-11

- Paper Submission: 3 November 2013 23.59 UTC-11

- Author Notification: 7 December 2013

- Camera-ready version: 18 December 2013

- Early registration: 8 January 2014  



Variability management is a major challenge in the development, maintenance, and evolution of software-intensive systems. VaMoS 2014 focuses broadly on innovative work in the area of variability modelling and management. We particularly invite contributions with a strong variability modelling aspect, but also addressing the wider area of variability management, e.g., requirements, architecture, analysis, implementation, and evolution.  The VaMoS workshop series aims at bringing together researchers and practitioners from different areas dedicated to mastering variability to discuss advantages, drawbacks, and complementarities of various approaches and to present new results for mastering variability throughout the whole lifecycle of systems, system families, and product lines.  

The workshop will feature invited keynotes as well as peer-reviewed paper presentations. We welcome submissions on the following topics:    

- Variability across the software lifecycle

- Separation of concerns and modularity

- Variability evolution

- Variability mining and reverse-engineering

- Feature, aspect, and service orientation

- Software configuration management and version control

- Architecture and design approaches for variability

- Software economic aspects of variability

- Visualization and management of variability - Adaptivity at runtime and development time

- Reasoning about variability

- Analysis of models and artifacts with variability - Programming languages and tool support

- Case studies, empirical studies and experience reports  

Please contact the PC chairs if uncertain about suitability of your paper for inclusion into the VAMOS program.  



VaMoS 2014, like the previous VaMoS workshops, will be a highly interactive event. Each session is organized such that discussions among presenters of papers, discussants and other participants are stimulated. Typically, after a paper is presented, it is immediately discussed by pre-assigned discussants, after which a free discussion involving all participants follows. Each session is closed by a general discussion of all papers presented in the session.  

The workshop language is English.  

Attendance is open to authors of accepted papers, invited speakers, organizers, PC members, and to any guest visitors who agree to be discussants of papers.  

Invited Speakers


Bran Selic, Malina Software, CA

Juha Savolainen, Danfoss Power Electronics, DK  

Submissions Types


- Research papers describing novel contributions to the field of   variability.

- Problem statements describing open issues of theoretical or practical nature.

- Reports on positive or negative experiences with techniques and tools related to VaMoS.

- Surveys and comparative studies that investigate pros, cons and complementarities of existing VaMoS-related approaches.

- Research-in-progress reports including research results at a premature   stage. - Vision papers stating where the research in the field should be   heading towards. - Demonstrations describing the variability-related features of software   development tools.  

The length of the submitted papers should be between 4 and 8 pages in ACM proceedings format ( choose option 2, tighter alternate style).  

The proceedings will be available to participants during the event, and archived in ACM Digital Library. Previous editions of VaMoS have been  indexed by DBLP.

!!!NEW!!! The authors of best papers accepted for VAMOS'14 will be invited to submit full versions to a special section of the Springer's SoSyM journal devoted to this edition of the workshop (subject to a separate review process).      

Steering Committee


Ulrich Eisenecker, University of Leipzig, DE

Patrick Heymans, PReCISE, University of Namur, BE

Kyo-Chul Kang, Pohang University of Science and Technology, KR

Andreas Metzger, University of Duisburg-Essen, DE

Klaus Pohl, University of Duisburg-Essen, DE    

General Chair


Philippe Collet, Université de Nice Sophia Antipolis à I3S/CNRS, FR    

Program Co-Chairs


Andrzej Wasowski, IT University of Copenhagen, DK

Thorsten Weyer, University of Duisburg-Essen, DE    

Program Committee


Eduardo Almeida, Recife Center for Advanced Studies and Systems, BR

Vander Alves, University of Brasília, BR

Sven Apel, University of Passau, DE

Maurice H. Ter Beek, Istituto di Scienza e Tecnologie dell'Informazione Pisa, IT Nelly Bencomo, INRIA, FR

David Benavides, University of Seville, SP

Thorsten Berger, IT University of Copenhagen, DK

Danilo Beuche, pure-systems GmbH, DE J

an Bosch, Chalmers University of Technology, SE

Goetz Botterweck, University of Limerick, IE

Manfred Broy, Technical University of Munich, DE

Philippe Collet, Université Nice Sophia Antipolis, FR

Krzysztof Czarnecki, University of Waterloo, CA

Oscar Diaz, University of the Basque Country, SP

Martin Erwig, Oregon State University, US

Alessandro Fantechi, University of Florence & ISTI-CNR, Pisa, IT

Jeff Gray, University of Alabama, US

Paul Gruenbacher, Johannes Kepler University Linz, AT

Østein Haugen, SINTEF Oslo, NO

Patrick Heymans, Universite de Namur, BE

Veit Jahns, University of Duisburg-Essen, DE

Jean-Marc Jézéquel, University of Rennes 1, FR

Isabel John, FH Würzburg Schweinfurt, DE

Christian Kästner, Carnegie Mellon University, US

Tomoji Kishi, Waseda University, JP

Jaejoon Lee, Lancaster University, UK

Frank Van Der Linden, Philips Healthcare, NL

Richard Pohl, University of Duisburg Essen, DE

Christian Prehofer, fortiss Munich, DE

Rick Rabiser, Johannes Kepler University Linz, AT

Mark-Oliver Reiser, Technical University Berlin, DE

Camille Salinesi, CRI, Université de Paris1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, FR

Ina Schaefer, Technische Universität Braunschweig, DE

Klaus Schmid, University of Hildesheim, DE

Vanessa Stricker, University of Duisburg Essen, DE

Salvador Trujillo, IKERLAN Research Centre

Karina Villela, Fraunhofer Institute for Experimental Software Engineering, DE

Claudia Werner, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, BR 

and the PC chairs



Université de Nice Sophia Antipolis – I3S/CNRS