14th International Congress of Developmental Biology

Venue: KYOTO

Location: KYOTO, Japan

Event Date/Time: Jul 08, 2001 End Date/Time: Jul 12, 2001
Paper Submission Date: Jan 15, 2001
Report as Spam


The International Society of Developmental Biology and the Japanese Society of Developmental Biologists are pleased to host the 14th International Congress of Developmental Biology.

Organizing Committee:

Masatoshi Takeichi (Chairperson)
Makoto Asashima
Hisato Kondoh
Yoshitaka Nagahama
Masukichi Okada
Noriyuki Satoh

International Program Committee:

Konrad Basler
William Chia
Ken W. Y. Cho
Alex L. Kolodkin,
Hisato Kondoh (Chairperson)
Atsushi Kuroiwa
Norio Nakatsuji
Hiroki Nishida
Akinao Nose
Kiyotika Okada
Hideyuki Okano
Nipam H. Patel
Olivier Pourquie
Daphne Preuss
Hiroyuki Takeda
Patrick P. L. Tam
Tadashi Uemura
Naoto Ueno
Stephen Wilson


(On-line submission on this Web site only)
Noon on Monday, January 15, 2001

Early Registration

You have two choices for registration:
on-line registration via this web site, and registration via facsimile using the downloaded PDF document form.
Monday, April 30, 2001

Wednesday, May 31, 2001

The 14th International Congress on Developmental Biology will be held July 8 to 12, 2001. It will be hosted by the International Society of Developmental Biology and the Japanese Society of Developmental Biologists, and held in Kyoto International Conference Hall in beautiful and historic Kyoto, Japan. The congress will include Opening Lectures, Special Session, Scientific Sessions (Symposia and Workshops) and Poster Presentations on topics of interest to developmental biologists.

OPENING LECTURES: Developmental Biology of the 21st century: its opening

Friedrich Bonhoeffer
Michael Freeling
Elizabeth Robertson
Masatoshi Takeichi (Chair)

SPECIAL SESSION: Historical synthesis of developmental biology

Masukichi Okada (Chair)
Walter Gehring
Tokindo S. Okada

SYMPOSIA (Other speakers will also be selected from the abstracts submitted)

Evolution of the body plan
Noriyuki Satoh (Chair)
Eric Davidson
Peter Holland
Michael Levine
Nipam Patel
Ralf Sommer

Embryo early patterning
Makoto Asashima (Chair)
Ken Cho
Hiroyuki Ide
Randall Moon
Claudio Stern

Organizing activity in embryogenesis
Hiroyuki Takeda (Chair)
Eddy De Robertis
Patrick Tam

Signaling in organogenesis
Naoto Ueno (Chair)
Konrad Basler
Philip Ingham

Neural patterning
Shin-ichi Aizawa (Chair)
Marianne Bronner-Fraser
Yuh-Nung Jan
John Rubenstein

Wiring the neural network
Hajime Fujisawa (Chair)
Alex Kolodkin
Dennis O'Leary

Development of behavior
Daisuke Yamamoto (Chair)
Arturo Alvarez-Buylla
Michael Meaney

Functional genomics in developmental biology
Yuji Kohara (Chair)
Rudi Balling
John Postlethwait

Polarizing cell architecture in organogenesis
Tadashi Uemura (Chair)
Nobutaka Hirokawa
Thomas Kornberg
Roel Nusse

Shaping and regenerating organs
Kiyokazu Agata (Chair)
Ernst Hafen
Martin Raff

Cell diversity and tissue polarity
Fumio Matsuzaki (Chair)
William Chia
Kenneth Kemphues
Raphael Kopan
Hiroki Nishida

Breaking the body symmetry
Hiroshi Hamada (Chair)
Siew-Lan Ang
Cliff Tabin

Differentiation of sexes
Kenichiro Morohashi (Chair)
Bruce Baker
Robin Lovell-Badge

Germ cells and gametogenesis
Satoru Kobayashi (Chair)
Peter Donovan
Daphne Preuss

Patterning and transcription factors
Hisato Kondoh (Chair)
Sarah Crittenden
Denis Duboule
Peter Gruss

Problems of aging
Yoichi Nabeshima (Chair)
Leonard Guarente
Cynthia Kenyon

WORKSHOPS (Other speakers will also be selected from the abstracts submitted)

Frontiers of bioimaging
Atsushi Miyawaki (Chair)
Scott Fraser
Michael Whitaker

Pattern generation in development: Theory and practice
Shigeru Kondoh (Chair)
Michael Elowitz
Cornelis Weijer

Emerging genetic technology in developmental biology
Harukazu Nakamura (Chair)
Alejandro Alvarado
Perry Hackett

Body organization in plants
Kiyotaka Okada (Chair)
Ben Scheres

Development of appendages
Atsushi Kuroiwa (Chair)
Sumihare Noji
Cheryll Tickle
Miguel Torres
Rolf Zeller

Generation of metamerism
Yumiko Saga (Chair)
Olivier Pourquie
David Weisblat

Stem cell and tissue engineering
Sin-Ichi Nishikawa (Chair)
Austin Smith
Ryuzo Yanagimachi

Molecular medicine and development
Hideyuki Okano (Chair)
Ulrike Heberlein
Christopher Potten
Mattew Scott

Development under environmental effects
Yoshitaka Nagahama (Chair)
Bruce Blumberg

Abstracts must be submitted, on-line, to this Web site, "Call for Abstracts". A form for final submission will be available from Wednesday, November 15, 2000, and to noon on Monday, January 15, 2001. (Japan time)

All regular presentations are basically poster presentations. However, we are pleased to announce that in addition to invited speakers, several oral presentations will be selected for each SYMPOSIUM and WORKSHOP from poster presentations upon your request (select your desired presentation style in the submission form). Selections will be made by the program committee by the end of February, 2001.