Event Date/Time: Mar 27, 2002 End Date/Time: Mar 30, 2002
Report as Spam


The International Conference on the Reagan Presidency, hosted by the Interdisciplinary Humanities Center (IHC), will be held at the University of California, Santa Barbara (UCSB) from 27-30 March 2002. Other sponsors include Vanderbilt University, the College of Letters and Science at UCSB, the Institute of Government Relations at the University of California, Berkeley (http://www.igs.berkeley.edu:8880/), the All-University of California Group in Economic History, and the University Press of Kansas.

The organizers of the conference are W. Elliot Brownlee, Professor of History at UCSB, and Hugh Davis Graham, the Holland N. McTyeire Professor of History ans Professor of Political Science at Vanderbilt University.

The goal of the conference is to promote a "second-generation" scholarly assessment of the Reagan Presidency. Due to a strong response to the call for papers from scholars in history, political science, and other disciplines, the organizers have been able to assemble papers and panels on a wide variety of topics. Among the panel titles are "Ideas and Rhetoric," "The Conservative Presidency," "Symbolism and Leadership," "Popularity and Personality," "Political Alignments," "The Christian Right," "Presidential Decision-Making," "Congressional Relations," "Judicial Strategy," "Civil Rights," "Women's Rights: Reproductive Rights," "Women's Rights: Title IX," "Immigration Policy," "The Environment," "Economic Policy," "Welfare Policy," "Education," "The Cold War," "National Security Policy," "The Western Alliance," and "Human Rights Abroad." For more information on specific papers and presenters, please visit the conference website (http://www.ihc.ucsb.edu/reagan/). The conference website will also feature an online registration feature by the end of December.

In addition to the paper presentations, the conference will include a group visit to the Reagan Ranch, and a dinner at the UCSB Faculty Club, featuring a guest speaker from the Reagan administration.