European Conference on Knowledge Management (ECKM)

Venue: Trinity College Dublin

Location: Dublin, Ireland

Event Date/Time: Feb 06, 2002
Abstract Submission Date: May 31, 2002
Paper Submission Date: Jul 31, 2002
Report as Spam


ECKM 2002 provides a valuable opportunity for academics and practitioners from Europe and elsewhere who are involved in the study, management, development and implementation of IT/IS to come together and exchange ideas. The conference encourages research papers on a wide range of knowledge management issues, both theoretical and practical as well as case studies.

A list of the papers accepted for the conference will be posted on the Web after the closing date, and when the review committee have considered all the submissions and made their selection.

Trinity College Dublin is one of the oldest and most prestigious universities in Europe. This outstandingly attractive college is conveniently located in the centre of Dublin and is easily accessible by bus from Dublin Airport.

Please note that there is a Doctoral Colloquium in Business and Management Research running on Monday 23 September. Any doctoral student who might be interested in attending can obtain further information at or contact the conference office at

Registration Details
Registration is from 09h30 on Tuesday 24 September 2002.

Fees include entrance to the conference and a copy of the conference proceedings. Lunch and refreshments are included as well as end of day drinks and conference dinner on the 24th. The conference will close at 17h00 on the 25 September.

This year we have introduced a discounted earlybird registration

To reserve a place, email the Conference Registrar, Charl Walters, at You can also register online at When registering, please be sure to include full postal address and state which registration package you require. An invoice with payment instructions will then be sent to you. (Payment can be by Euro bank draft, Sterling bank draft, Sterling cheque or by Visa or MasterCard). Students need to provide the name of their institution and their student registration number. As there are a limited number of accommodation packages available you are advised to book these early to avoid disappointment. Alternative accommodation, travel and venue information can be found on the website at

Please refer to the website for cancellation terms and conditions. These can also be obtained on request by contacting Charl Walters at

Fees are payable in advance in Euros or pounds sterling and are as follows:

Without Accommodation
Earlybird – must be paid before 31 July 2002
Academics, £325.00
Registered students, £199.00
Professionals and consultants, £599.00
For registrations after 31 July 2002
Academics, £375.00
Registered students, £250.00
Professionals and consultants, £699.00

With Accommodation
Earlybird – must be paid before 31 July 2002
Academics, £425.00
Registered students, £299.00
Professionals and consultants, £699.00
For registrations after 31 July 2002
Academics, £475.00
Registered students, £350.00
Professionals and consultants, £750.00

Please pass these details on to any colleagues that might be interested.

Conference Executive:
Joan Ballantine, Queens University, Belfast,
Professor Sven Carlsson, Jönköping International Business School, Sweden,
Meliha Handzic, University of New South Wales, Australia,
Denise Leahy, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland,
Professor Arthur Money, Henley Management College,
Alan Mullally, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland,
Professor Dan Remenyi, Trinity College Dublin,
Professor Roy Williams, Reading University,

Conference Committee:
The conference programme committee consists of key people in the Knowledge Management and IS community:

Gabriela Avram (AISTEDA University), Atta Badii (University College Northampton), Joan Ballantine (Queens University), Frank Bannister (Trinity College, Dublin), Freddie Beaver (University of Memphis), Diane Benjamin (National Health Service), Egon Berghout (Gronigen University), Ann Brown, (City University Business School), Sven Carlsson – Conference Chair (Jönköping International Business School), Pat Carrillo, (Loughborough University), Mike Cash (Butterworth Heinemann), Reet Cronk (Harding University), Enrique Dans (Instituto de Empresa), Jean-Noël Ezingeard (Henley Management College), Nenad Filipovic (Bled School of Management), Andras Gabor (Budapest University of Economic Sciences and Public Administration), Kevin Grant (Bell College of Technology), David Gurteen (Gurteen Associates), Meliha Handzic (University of New South Wales), Denise Leahy (Trinity College Dublin), Gus Liston (Irish Management Institute), Bill Martin (Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology), Arthur Money (Henley Management College), Chris Morse (Xansa), Alan Mullally – Programme Co-Chair (Trinity College Dublin), Rene Pellissier (SBL-UNISA), David Pennington (Sainsburys plc), Dan Remenyi (Trinity College, Dublin), Mike Sherwood-Smith (University College, Dublin), Edward Truch, (Henley Management College), Andrey Volkov (Moscow State University of Management), Roy Williams – Programme Co-Chair, (Reading University), Les Worrall, (Wolverhampton University).

This invitation to attend can be found at the conference section of