The Second International Workshop on Grid and Cooperative Computing (GCC2003)

Venue: Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Location: Shanghai, Comoros

Event Date/Time: Dec 07, 2003 End Date/Time: Dec 10, 2003
Paper Submission Date: Sep 15, 2003
Report as Spam



In the last few years, the Grid and Web services community has been growing very rapidly. This goes along with the growing popularity of the Internet, the availability of powerful computers and high-speed networks, and is changing the way we do computing.

The Second International Workshop on Grid and Cooperative Computing (GCC2003) is to be held from December 7 to 10, 2003 in Shanghai, the most active city of China. GCC2003 is the follow-up of the highly successful GCC2002 Workshop held in SanYa, HaiNan, China. It will serve as a forum to present current and future work as well as to exchange research ideas by researchers, developers, practitioners, and users in grid computing, Web services and cooperative computing, including theory and applications. The workshop is soliciting only original high quality research papers on all above aspects. Submitted papers will be evaluated on significance, originality, technical quality, and exposition.


The main topics of interest include, but not limited to:

Grid Computing and Grid Security
Grid Information Services
Grid Middleware and Toolkits
Grid Monitoring, Management and Organization Tools
Grid Applications
Information Grid and Knowledge Grid
Advance Resource Reservation and Scheduling
Performance Evaluation and Modeling
Web Services and Web Security
P2P Computing
Cooperative Middleware
Software Integration Technologies
Software Engineering Support for Cooperative Computing
Computer-Supported Cooperative Work

GCC 2003 invites authors to submit original and unpublished work. Papers should not exceed 10 pages of text using 10 point size type on 8.5 x 11 inch paper. Papers will be refereed and accepted on the basis of their scientific merit and relevance to the conference topics. Submission of full technical papers is called. Papers should be written in English and submitted in PDF format. All papers are to be electronically submitted to (Please also include the address, telephone, FAX, and email of the primary contact person in a separate sheet):

To learn more about GC2003 see the Web site at and


All papers submitted for this workshop are peer-reviewed and accepted papers will be published as a separate proceedings. GCC2003 Proceedings will be published in LNCS series by Springer.

It is also planned that a selection of papers from GCC2003 proceedings will be extended and published in International Journal of High Performance Computing and Networking (IJHPCN).

So, the accepted papers will be divided into 3 levels:

level 1: regular paper in LNCS, and recommended to be published in IJHPCN
level 2: regular paper in LNCS
level 3: short paper in LNCS


Electronic submissions due: September 15, 2003
Acceptance notification due: October 15, 2003
Camera-ready due: November 5, 2003
GCC2003 Workshop: December 7 to 10, 2003


Steering Committee:

Guojie Li (CCF, China)
Zhiwei Xu (IEEE Beijing Chapter, China)
Xiaodong Zhang (NSF, USA and College of William and Mary, USA) Huanye Sheng (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
Weiping Shen (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)

General Co-Chairs:

Minglu Li (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China, Email:

Xian-He Sun (Illinois Institute of Technology, USA, Email:

Program Co-Chairs:

Qianni Deng (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China, Email:

Jun Ni (University of Iowa, USA, Email:

Program Committee Members

Yaodong Bi (University of Scranton, USA)
Jian Cao (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
Jiannong Cao(Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China)
Guo-Liang Chen(University of Science and Technology of China,China)
Jian Chen (South Australia University, Australia)
Xuebin Chi (Computer Network Information Center, CAS, China)
Qianni Deng (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
Xiaoshe Dong (XiAn JiaoTong University, China)
Weimin Du (USA)
Joseph Fong (City University of Hong Kong, HK)
Yuxi Fu (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
Guangrong Gao (University of Delaware Newark, USA)
Yadong Gui (Shanghai Supercomputing Center, China)
Minyi Guo (University of Aizu, Japan)
Jun Han (Monash University, Austrialia)
Yanbo Han (Institute of Computing Tech., CAS, China)
Jinpeng Huai (BeiHang University (BUAA), China)
Weijia Jia (City University of Hong Kong, HK)
Hai Jin (HuaZhong University of Sci.&Tech., China)
Francis Lau (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, HK)
Keqin Li (State University of New York, USA).
Minglu Li (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
Qing Li (City University of Hong Kong, HK)
Xiaoming Li (PeKing University, China)
Xinda Lu (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
Junzhou Luo (Southeast University, China)
Fanyuan Ma (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
Dan Meng (Institute of Computing Tech., CAS, China)
Xiangxu Meng (ShanDong University, China)
Jun Ni (University of Iowa, USA)
Lionel M. Ni(The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology,China)
Yi Pan (Georgia State University, USA)
Depei Qian (XiAn Jiao Tong University, China)
Yuzhong Qu (Southeast University, China)
Hong Shen (Advanced Institute of Science & Technology, Japan)
Xian-He Sun (Illinois Institute of Technology, USA)
Weiqin Tong (Shanghai University, China)
Cho-Li Wang (University of Hong Kong, HK)
Shaowen Wang (University of Iowa, USA)
Xingwei Wang (Northeastern University, China)
Jie Wu(Florida Atlantic University, USA)
Zhaohui Wu (ZheJiang University, China)
Nong Xiao (National University of Defense Tech., China)
Xianghui Xie (Jiangnan Institute of Computing Technology, China)
Chengzhong Xu (Wayne State University, USA)
Zhiwei Xu (IEEE Computer Society Beijing Center, China)
Guangwen Yang (TsingHua University, China)
Laurence Tianruo Yang (St. Francis Xavier University, Canada)
Qiang Yang (Hong Kong UST, HK)
Jinyuan You (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
Haibiao Zeng (Sun YAT-SEN University, China)
Ling Zhang (South China University of Technology, China)
Xiaodong Zhang (NSF, USA and College of William and Mary, USA)
Wu ZHANG(Shanghai University,China)
Weimin Zheng (TsingHua University, China)
Aoying Zhou (Fudan University, China)
Wanlei Zhou (Deakin University, Australia)
Jianping Zhu (University of Akron, USA)
Hai Zhuge (Institute of Computing Tech. CAS, China)

Organization Committee:

Xinda Lu (Chair), Jian Cao, Ruonan Rao, Meiju Chen, An Yang, Zhihua Su, and Feilong Tang

Sponsored by

China Computer Federation (CCF)
Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU)
IEEE Beijing Chapter

Supported by

IBM, Intel and Platform

Keynote Speakers:

Carl Kesselman, Andrew A. Chien, and Satoshi Matsuoka


1954 Huashan Road