Conference in Discrete Mathematics and its applications December9-11,2004 (dma2004)

Venue: Coimbatore

Location: Coimbatore, TamilNadu, India

Event Date/Time: Dec 09, 2004 End Date/Time: Dec 11, 2004
Registration Date: Nov 15, 2004
Early Registration Date: Aug 30, 2004
Abstract Submission Date: Aug 30, 2004
Paper Submission Date: Nov 15, 2004
Report as Spam


Discrete mathematics is a vibrant branch of the mathematical sciences, in both theory and its applications. Its application areas include pure and applied mathematics such as computational algebra, number theory, graphs and combinatorial optimisation, coding theory, cryptography, topology, geometry as well as biology. Probabilistic coding theory,
efficient representations of elements of finite fields for VLSI design of cryptographic hardware, study of properties of various nonlinear pseudorandom number generators are some of the emerging interdisciplinary areas, which are posing new challenges to discrete mathematicians.The objective of this conference is to provide a stimulating and interactive forum to highlight the major developments in the field; in particular, to gain a better understanding of problems arising in different environments where discrete mathematics is developed and applied.

The programme consists of invited talks, presentation of papers and a panel discussion. The organisers of the conference expect to bring together leading researchers in this area and their interaction will generate renewed interest in various branches of discrete mathematics and their applications


Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham(Deemed University)Ettimadai, Coimbatore

Additional Information

Among the distinguished invited speakers who have kindly accepted our invitation are Dr B.D. Acharya (Advisor, DST), Dr R. Balakrishnan (Bharathidasan University), Dr R. Balasubramanian (Matscience), Dr Bimal Roy (ISI Kolkata), Dr S.A. Choudum (IIT Chennai), Dr K.D. Joshi (IIT Bombay), Dr V. Kumar Murty (University of Toronto) Dr Navin Singhi (TIFR), Dr C. Pandu Rangan (IIT Chennai), Dr K.R. Parthasarathi (IIT Chennai), Dr S.B. Rao (ISI Kolkata), Dr E. Sampathkumar (University of Mysore), Dr P.K.Saxena (SAG, DRDO) Dr R.K. Shyam Sundar (TIFR), Dr B. Sundar Rajan (IISc) Dr Tom Brown (Simon Fraser University, Canada) Dr T.Thrivikraman (Cochin University of Science &Technology and Dr C.E. Veni Madhavan (IISc)