International Workshop on Critical Information Infrastructures Security (CRITIS'06)

Venue: Samos

Location: Samos, Greece

Event Date/Time: Aug 30, 2006
Paper Submission Date: Jun 16, 2006
Report as Spam



First International Workshop on

- in conjunction with ISC’06 -

August 30 - September 2, 2006
Samos Island, Greece

Workshop scope
Key sectors of modern economies depend highly on ICT. The information
flowing through the resulting technological super-infrastructure
as well as the information being processed by the complex computing
systems that underpin it becomes crucial because its disruption,
disturbance or loss can lead to high economical, material and,
sometimes, human loss. As a consequence, the security and dependability
of this infrastructure becomes critical and its protection a major
objective for governments, companies and the research community.

CRITIS has been born as an event that wants to bring together researchers
and professionals from universities, private
companies and Public Administrations
interested or involved in all security-related heterogeneous aspects of
Critical Information Infrastructures. We invite research papers,
work-in-progress reports, R&D projects results, surveying works and
industrial experiences describing significant security advances in the
following (non-exclusive) areas of Critical Information Infrastructures:

- Continuity of Services
- Dependable Infrastructure Communications
- Early Warning Systems
- Embedded Technologies Security
- Incident Response
- Infrastructure Interdependencies
- Information Assurance
- Internet-based remote control
- Forensic Techniques
- National and Cross Border Activities
- Network Survivability
- Trust Models in Critical Scenarios
- Policy Management
- Resilient Software
- Secure Information Sharing
- Security Logistics
- Security Modeling and Simulation
- Security Risks
- Threats Analysis
- Vulnerability Assessment

Instructions for paper submission
All submissions will be subjected to a thorough blind review by at least
three reviewers. Papers should be up to 12 pages in English, including
bibliography and well-marked appendices. Pre-proceedings will appear
at the time of the conference. It is planned that additional post-proceedings
will be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science
(LNCS) series.
At least one author of each accepted paper is required to register with the
Workshop and present the paper.

To submit a paper, please follow the specific instructions on the Workshop
website (
The submitted paper (in PDF or PostScript format), which should follow the
template indicated by Springer (,
must start with a title, a short abstract, and a list of keywords.
However, it should be anonymous with no author names, affiliations,
acknowledgements, nor obvious references.

Important dates
Submission of papers: June 16th, 2006
Notification to authors: July 7th, 2006
Camera-ready copies: July 24th, 2006

General Co-Chairs
Sokratis Katsikas, University of the Aegean, Greece
Reinhard Posch, Technical Univ. Graz, Austria

Programme Chair
Javier Lopez, University of Malaga, Spain

Organization Chair
Stefanos Gritzalis, University of the Aegean, Greece

Program Committee (more to be added)
Marc Dacier, Institut Eurécom, France
George Davida, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, US
Ed Dawson, QUT, Australia
Yvo Desmedt, University College London, UK
Myriam Dunn, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Claudia Eckert, Fraunhofer-SIT, Germany
Steven Furnell, University of Plymouth, UK
Urs Gattiker, CyTRAP-RiskIT, Switzerland
Adrian Gheorghe, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Eric Goetz, Dartmouth College, US
Juan M. Gonzalez-Nieto, QUT, Australia
John Griffin, IBM T.J. Watson, US
Stefanos Gritzalis, University of the Aegean, Greece
Dieter Gollmann, TU Hamburg, Germany
Bernhard M. Hämmerli, HTA Lucerne, Switzerland
Tom Karygiannis, NIST, US
Håkan Kvarnström, TeliaSonera, Sweden
Diego Lopez, RedIRIS, Spain
Eric Luiijf, TNO, Netherlands
Masahiro Mambo, Univ. of Tsukuba, Japan
Fabio Martinelli, CNR, Italy
Simin Nadjm-Tehrani, Linköping University, Sweden
Eiji Okamoto, Univ. of Tsukuba, Japan
Kai Rannenberg, Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany
Rodrigo Roman, University of Malaga, Spain
Roberto Setola, Univ. Campus Bio-Medico di Roma, Italy
Sujeet Shenoi, University of Tulsa, US
Stephen D. Wolthusen, Royal Holloway, UK
Moti Yung, Columbia University, US
Yuliang Zheng, University of North Carolina, US
Jianying Zhou, I2R, Singapore

More information