First International Conference on Access Networks (ACCESSNETS 2006)

Venue: Athen

Location: Athen, Greece

Event Date/Time: Sep 04, 2006 End Date/Time: Sep 06, 2006
Registration Date: Sep 04, 2006
Early Registration Date: Aug 04, 2006
Abstract Submission Date: Jun 01, 2006
Paper Submission Date: Jun 01, 2006
Report as Spam


Research has led to massive development and deployment in the access networking space leading to significant efforts in merging the bandwidth bottleneck between ever growing PC speeds and the high speed network core. In addition to broadband services, the access area also represents consumers that desire pervasive as well as ubiquitous services. Therefore, the access network is a hot investment pool from both a financial as well as a research perspective.

Accessnets is a forum that brings together scientists/researchers from academia and managers/engineers from the industry and government organizations to meet and exchange ideas and recent work in this emerging area of networking.

Papers are solicited but not restricted to the following areas:

• Passive Optical Networks

• xDSL technology

• Long Reach Ethernet over Copper

• Standards for High speed short haul Ethernet

• Fiber to the Home, Premise, Curb, Desktop, user

• Coarse WDM

• Powerline Communications

• Coaxial Cable technologies

• Hybrid Fiber Coaxial technologies

• WiFi Networks

• WIMAX networks

• WIMAX subsystem design

• OFDM issues in Wireless communications

• Cross-layer design

• Cross-Media Networks

(Hybrid Media Networks)/

Independent Media Networks

• Business case issues in Access Networks

• Municipal and Community Networks

• Regulatory Issues

• Deployments in Access Networks

• Management issues in Access networks

• Billing consumers in the access area



Additional Information

Organizing Committee: General Chair: Ioannis Tomkos, Athens Information Technology and Ramjee Prasad Aalborg University, Program Committee Chairs: Ozan Tonguz Carnegie Mellon University, USA and Ashwin Gumaste Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay Workshop Chair: Gregory Yovanof, Athens Information Technology Business track Chair: Nikos Pronios, Intracom Panel Chair: Panos Dallas, Intracom Steering Committee: Imrich Chlamtac, (Chair), Create-net, Italy Ioannis Tomkos AIT, Athens, Greece Ashwin Gumaste IIT Bombay, India Publicity Chairs: Anupam Banerjee, Telecommunications Practice, McKinsey & Company, USA and Jingxian Wu, Calstate Finance Chair: Karen Decker, ICST Technical Program Committee: Hussein Mouftah (University of Ottawa Canada) Stuart Walker (Essex University, UK) Aniudha Sahoo (IIT Bombay, India ) Suresh Subramaniam (George Washington University, USA ) Mohan Guruswamy (NUS Singapore) Nicholas A. Zervos (Ellemedia Technologies, Ltd.) Mounir Hamdi (UST Hongkong) Stefano Galli (Telcordia, USA) Technical Program Committee: Tony Boucouvalas (Bournemouth UK) Peter van Daele (Univ of Ghent) Thyaga Nandgopal (Lucent Technologies, USA ) Kaustubh Phanse (University of Lulea, Sweden) Vinod Vokkarane (UMass Dartmouth, USA) Arjan Durressi (Louisiana State University) Ioannis Zacharopoulos, (Greek Telecom and Posts Commission) Ibrahim Habib (Cuny USA) Geof Hill (GTEL, UK) Hagen Woesner (Createnet Italy) Evsen Yanmaz (CMU, USA) Xhafa Ariton (Texas Instruments) Gianluigi Ferrari (University of Parma, Italy) Costa Courcoubetis (Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece) Yuanyuan Yang (Sunnysb USA) Stamatios Kartalopoulos (OU, USA) Hakki Cankaya, (Alcatel USA) Martin Bouda, (Fujitsu USA) Galen Sasaki, (Univ of Hawaii USA) Srinivasan Ramasubramanian, (Univ of Arizona USA) Tony Boucouvalas (Bournemouth UK) Peter van Daele (Univ of Ghent) Sridhar Iyer (IIT Bombay, India) Paparao Palacharla (Fujitsu Ltd, USA ) Hua Zhu, (San Diego Research Center USA)