Second International Conference on Security and Privacy for Communication Networks (Securecomm 2006)

Venue: Baltimore

Location: Baltimore, United States

Event Date/Time: Aug 28, 2006 End Date/Time: Sep 01, 2006
Early Registration Date: Jul 28, 2006
Report as Spam


The scope of Securecomm 2006 has been broadened since the inaugural
2005 event. Topics of interest encompass research advances in ALL
areas of secure communications and networking. Topics in other areas
(e.g., formal methods, database security, secure OS/software,
theoretical cryptography, e-commerce) will be considered only if a
clear connection to privacy and/or security in
communication/networking is demonstrated.

Securecomm aims to bring together security and privacy experts in
academia, industry and government as well as practitioners, standards
developers and policy makers. Securecomm also serves as a venue for
learning about state-of-the-art in security and privacy
research. Presentations reporting on cutting-edge research results are
supplemented by panels on controversial issues and invited talks on
timely and important topics.

Areas of interest include, but ARE NOT limited to, the following:

* Security & Privacy in Wired, Wireless, Mobile, Hybrid, Sensor, Ad Hoc
* Network Intrusion Detection and Prevention, DoS Countermeasures
* Firewalls, Routers, Filters and Malware detectors
* Public Key Infrastructures and Other Security Architectures
* Secure Web Communication
* Communication Privacy and Anonymity
* Secure/Private E-commerce
* Secure Routing, Naming/Addressing, Network Management
* Security & Privacy in Pervasive and Ubiquitous Computing, e.g., RFIDs

PAPERS: Regular Technical Paper submissions are closed.

Securecomm 2006 will include poster/demonstration sessions that shall
provide a forum to present and discuss: works in progress, industry
demonstrations of new applications and techniques, practical
implementations, industrial and commercial developments, research
testbeds and demonstrations, recent research/implementation results,
upcoming research challenges, future directions, and novel approaches
in the fields of communications and network security and privacy.

Proposals for posters/demo presentations are solicited. Proposals
will be reviewed and selection will be made based on the perceived
value to the research community and interest level for the conference
attendees. Proposals should not exceed 3 pages and should include: a
description of the poster/demo, the focus area, technologies involved,
specific equipment to be used (for demos), demo layout and space
required. Please submit proposals to the Research Demos Chair by
July 1, 2006 by email to:


Additional Information

CONFERENCE ORGANIZING COMMITTEE General Co-Chairs ----------------- Mukesh Singhal, University of Kentucky, John Baras, University of Maryland, College Park, Technical Program Co-Chairs --------------------------- Steve Kent, BBN, Gene Tsudik, UC Irvine, Workshops Chair --------------- G. Manimaran, Iowa State University, Panels Co-Chairs ---------------- Bruno Crispo, Vrije Universiteit, Netherlands, Avishai Wool, Technion, Israel, Research Demos/Exhibits Chair ----------------------------- Tom Karygiannis, NIST, Sponsorships Chair ------------------ Byrav Ramamurthy, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Publicity Co-Chairs ------------------- Peng Liu, Penn State University, Cristina Nita-Rotaru, Purdue University, Publication Chair ----------------- Farooq Anjum, Telcordia Technologies, Steering Committee: ------------------- Imrich Chlamtac (Chair), Create-Net Krishna M. Sivalingam (Co-Chair), University of Maryland, Baltimore County Gene Tsudik, University of California, Irvine Brian Bigalke, (Staff Liaison, IEEE Communications Society) TECHNICAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE N. Asokan Nokia Research Giuseppe Ateniese Johns Hopkins University Tuomas Aura Microsoft Research Dirk Balfanz PARC Bharat Bhargava Purdue Matt Bishop University of California, Davis Levente Buttyan Budapest University of Technology Srdjan Capkun Technical University of Denmark Claude Castelluccia Inria Rhone-Alpes Tom Chen Southern Methodist University Bruno Crispo Vrije Universitet Breno de Medeiros University of Central Florida Robert Deng Singapore Management University Xuhua Ding Singapore Management University Glenn Durfee PARC Bao Feng Institute for Infocomm Research Dieter Gollmann Technical University of Hamburg-Harb Richard Han University of Colorado at Boulder Tom Karygiannis NIST Yongdae Kim University of Minnessota Christopher Kruegel Technical University of Vienna Brian LaMacchia Microsoft Carl Landwehr University of Maryland Wenke Lee Georgia Tech Albert Levi Sabanci University, Ninghui Li Purdue Peng Liu Pennsylvania State University Luigi Mancini Unversity of Rome - La Sapienza Fabio Massacci University of Trento