International Anxiety Disorders Symposium (IADS 2008)

Venue: Arabella Sheraton Cape Town

Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Event Date/Time: Mar 17, 2008 End Date/Time: Mar 18, 2008
Registration Date: Mar 13, 2008
Early Registration Date: Jan 18, 2008
Abstract Submission Date: Nov 09, 2007
Report as Spam


The MRC Unit on Anxiety Disorders is pleased to announce that we will be hosting an International Anxiety Disorders Symposium on 17 and 18 March 2008.

The symposium will be organised in conjunction with the International Society for Affective Disorders’ 4th Biennial Conference. The ISAD conference will consist of a series of parallel symposia held over 3 days (14- 17 March) (for further details visit ).

Mood and anxiety disorders are the most prevalent of all psychiatric disorders, are very disabling and costly, in terms of human suffering as well as economic cost, hence they warrant special attention. Leaders in the field of anxiety and mood disorders will review and discuss the most recent advances in the diagnosis, pathogenesis and treatment of anxiety and mood disorders.

The International Anxiety Disorders Symposium will take place at the prestigious Arabella Sheraton in the heart of Cape Town thereby offering ample opportunity for sightseeing.

We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Town and to receiving your poster abstract submissions.

The Mental Health Information Centre
The MRC Unit on Anxiety Disorders
The Cross University Brain Behaviour Initiative

For more details, please refer to or contact Arlene Kleinhans at Tel +27 21 938 9229 or,

Christer Allgulander (Sweden), Kurt Audenaert (Belgium), David Baldwin (UK), Borwin Bandelow (Germany), Donald Black (US), David Castle (Australia), Kathryn Connor (US), Jonathan Davidson (US), Damiaan Denys (Netherlands), Naomi Fineberg (UK), Jean-Pierre Lepine (France), Eric Hollander (US), Donatella Marazziti (Italy), Euripedes Miguel (Brazil), David Nutt (UK), Stefano Pallanti (Italy), Kees van Heeringen (Belgium), Herman Westenberg (Netherlands), Joseph Zohar (Israel).
Chairperson: Dan Stein (South Africa)