Fourth International Conference on Security and Privacy for Communication Networks (SECURECOMM 2008)

Venue: Istanbul

Location: Istanbul, Turkey

Event Date/Time: Sep 22, 2008 End Date/Time: Sep 25, 2008
Paper Submission Date: Mar 24, 2008
Report as Spam


Securecomm seeks high-quality research contributions in the form of well
developed papers. Topics of interest encompass research advances in ALL areas
of secure communications and networking. Topics in other areas (e.g., formal
methods, database security, secure software, theoretical cryptography) will
be considered only if a clear connection to private or secure
communication/networking is demonstrated. Securecomm brings together
security and privacy experts in academia, industry and government as well as
practitioners, standards developers and policy makers. Securecomm also
serves as a venue for learning about state-of-the-art in security and privacy
research. Presentations reporting on cutting-edge research results are
supplemented by panels on controversial issues and invited talks on timely
and important topics.

PAPERS: Technical papers describing original unpublished research are
solicited. Submissions must not be concurrently under review by a
conference, journal or any other venue that has proceedings.

SUBMISSION INSTRUCTIONS: Only PDF formats are accepted for all submissions.
Paper submissions must not exceed 10 pages in IEEE conference style,
twocolumn format, not including the bibliography. Well-marked appendices of up to
2 pages are allowed but will be read only at the discretion of reviewers.
All submitted papers will be judged based on their quality through
*doubleblind* reviewing, where the identities of the authors are withheld from the
reviewers. Authors' names must not appear in the paper.
Complete paper submission instructions are available at the conference

TOPICS of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:

* Security & Privacy in Wired, Wireless, Mobile, Hybrid, Sensor, Ad Hoc networks
* Network Intrusion Detection and Prevention, Firewalls, Packet Filters
* Malware and botnets
* Communication Privacy and Anonymity
* Distributed denial of service
* Public Key Infrastructures, key management, credentials
* Web security
* Secure Routing, Naming/Addressing, Network Management
* Security & Privacy in Pervasive and Ubiquitous Computing, e.g., RFIDs
* Security & Privacy for emerging technologies: VoIP, peer-to-peer and
overlay network systems, Web 2.0

Submissions can be made at:

WORKSHOPS: Proposals for one-day workshops to be held in conjunction with
the conference are solicited. A maximum of 2 pages should be submitted which
include the workshop name, its scope and a list of topic of interests.
Proposals should be submitted to the Workshop Chair by April 1, 2008.

DEMOS: Proposals for research and industrial demos are solicited. A maximum
of 2 pages should be submitted which include a description of the demo and
needed resources from the conference organizers. Proposals should be submitted to
the General Chair by June 1, 2008.

Paper Submission: March 24, 2008
Notification of Acceptance: June 6, 2008
Camera-ready Version: July 1, 2008


General Chair
Albert Levi, Sabanci University, Turkey

Program Co-chairs
Peng Liu, Penn State Univeristy, USA
Refik Molva, Eurecom, France

Local Chair
Erkay Savas, Sabanci University, Turkey

Panels Chair
Radha Poovendran, University of Washington, USA

Workshops Chair
Srdjan Capkun, ETHZ, Switzerland

Publicity Co-chairs
Wenke Lee, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Javier Lopez, University of Malaga, Spain

Publications Chair
Roberto Di Pietro, Universita di Roma 3, Italy

Sponsorships Chair
Bulent Yener, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI), USA

Finance Chair
Karen Decker, ICST

Webmaster Co-chairs
Can Berk Guder, Sabanci University, Turkey
Armagan Amcalar, Sabanci University, Turkey

Steering Commitee
Imrich Chlamtac (Chair), Create-Net, Italy
Krishna Sivalingam (Co-chair), University of Maryland Baltimore County, USA

Conference Coordinator
Zsuzsi Kaszab, ICST

Mustaque Ahamad, Georgia Tech, USA
N. Asokan, Nokia Research, Finland
Tuomas Aura, Microsoft Research, Cambridge, UK
Gildas Avoine, Uniersite Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
Ahmet Camtepe, Technical University of Berlin, Germany
Christophe Bidan, Supelec, France
Levente Buttyan, Budapest University of Technology, Hungary
Srdjan Capkun, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Claude Castellucia, INRIA, France
Hao Chen, University of California Davis, USA
Hsiao-Hwa Chen, National Sun Yat-Sen Unviersity, Taiwan
Shigang Chen, University of Florida, USA
Yan Chen, Northwestern University, USA
Tzi-cker Chiueh, Stony Brook University, USA
Giovanni Di Crescenzo, Telcordia, USA
Weidong Cui, Microsoft Research, USA
Marc Dacier, Institut Eurecom, France
Herve Debar, France Telecom R&D, France
Bart De Decker, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Anup Ghosh, George Mason University, USA
Yong Guan, Iowa State University, USA
Chuanxiong Guo, Microsoft Research Asia, China
Els Van Herreweghen, IBM, Switzerland
Hongxia Jin, IBM Almaden Research Center, USA
Jiwu Jing, Graduate University of Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
George Kesidis, Penn State University, USA
Dogan Kesdogan, University of Siegen, Germany
Engin Kirda, Technical University of Vienna, Austria
Christopher Kruegel, Technical University of Vienna, Austria
Wenke Lee, Georgia Tech, USA
Albert Levi, Sabanci University, Turkey
Jason Li, Intelligent Automation, Inc., USA
Ninghui Li, Purdue University, USA
Luigi Mancini, Unversity of Rome - La Sapienza, Italy
Z. Morley Mao, University of Michigan, USA
Fabio Massacci, University of Trento, Italy
Pietro Michiardi, Institut Eurecom, France
Jelena Mirkovic, USC ISI, USA
Pekka Nikander, Ericsson Research, Finland
Cristina Nita-Rotaru, Purdue University, USA
Guevara Noubir, Northeastern Univ. USA
Melek Onen, Institut Eurecom, France
Roberto Di Pietro, University of Rome I, Italy
Radha Provendran, University of Washington, UA
Michael Roe, Microsoft Research, Cambridge, UK
Pierangela Samarati, Universita di Milano, Italy
Nitesh Saxena, Polytechnic University, New York, USA
R. Sekar, Stony Brook University, USA
Mukesh Singhal, University of Kentucky, USA
Zhendong Su, UC Davis, USA
Giovanni Vigna, UC Santa Barbara, USA
Haining Wang, College of William & Mary, USA
Xiaofeng Wang, Indiana University, USA
Xinyuan Wang, George Mason University, USA
Dirk Westhoff, NEC Research, Germany
Felix Wu, UC Davis, USA
Bulent Yener, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA
Yin Zhang, UT Austin, USA
Sencun Zhu, Penn State University, USA
Cliff Zou, Central Florida University, USA