Second ACM Conference on Wireless Network Security (WiSec'09)

Venue: ETH Zurich

Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Event Date/Time: Mar 16, 2009 End Date/Time: Mar 18, 2009
Abstract Submission Date: Sep 22, 2008
Paper Submission Date: Sep 22, 2008
Report as Spam


The Second ACM Conference on Wireless Network Security (WiSec)

March 16 -- 18, 2009, Zurich, Switzerland

About WiSec

As wireless networks become ubiquitous, their security gains in importance. The ACM Conference on Wireless Network Security (WiSec) aims at exploring attacks on wireless networks as well as techniques to thwart them. The considered networks encompass cellular, metropolitan, local area, vehicular, ad hoc, satellite, underwater, cognitive radio, and sensor networks as well as RFID. WiSec resulted from the merger of three workshops:

ESAS (European Workshop on the Security of Ad Hoc and Sensor Networks),

SASN (ACM Workshop on the Security of Ad Hoc and Sensor Networks), and

WiSe (ACM Workshop on Wireless Security).

The conference is soliciting contributions including but not limited to the topics listed below:

* Naming and addressing vulnerabilities

* Key management in wireless/mobile environments

* Secure neighbor discovery / Secure localization

* Secure PHY and MAC protocols

* Trust establishment

* Intrusion detection, detection of malicious behavior

* Revocation of malicious parties

* Denial of service

* User privacy, location privacy

* Anonymity, prevention of traffic analysis

* Identity theft and phishing in mobile networks

* Charging

* Cooperation and prevention of non-cooperative behavior

* Economics of wireless security

* Vulnerability and attack modeling

* Incentive-aware secure protocol design

* Jamming/Anti-jamming communication

* Cross-layer design for security

* Monitoring and surveillance

* Cryptographic primitives for wireless communication

Submission instructions: TBA

Important dates:

* Paper submissions due: September 22, 2008

* Notification of acceptance: December 10, 2008

* Camera-ready version due: January 15, 2009

* Conference: March 16 - 18, 2009


General Chair:

David Basin, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Program Co-chairs:

Srdjan Capkun, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Wenke Lee, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Publicity Chair:

Loukas Lazos, University of Arizona, USA

Treasurer/Local Arrangements:

Barbara Geiser, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Steering Committee:

Jean-Pierre Hubaux, EPFL, Switzerland (chair)

Levente Buttyan, BME, Hungary

Claude Castelluccia, INRIA, France

Virgil Gligor, University of Maryland, USA

Douglas Maughan, DHS/HSARPA, USA

Peng Ning, North Carolina State University, USA

Adrian Perrig, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Radha Poovendran, University of Washington, USA

Nitin Vaidya, University of Illinois, USA

Cliff Wang, Army Research Office, USA

Dirk Westhoff, NEC Europe Network Lab, Germany