The 4th Workshop on Theory of Quantum Computation, Communication, and Cryptography (TQC 2009)

Venue: -

Location: -

Event Date/Time: May 11, 2009 End Date/Time: May 13, 2009
Report as Spam



The 4th Workshop on Theory of Quantum Computation,
Communication, and Cryptography
---- TQC 2009 ----

Institute for Quantum Computing, University of Waterloo, Waterloo
Ontario, Canada

May 11-13, 2009

General Information:

Quantum computation, quantum communication, and quantum
cryptography are subfields of quantum information processing,
an interdisciplinary field of information science and quantum
mechanics. TQC 2009 focuses on theoretical aspects of these
subfields. The objective of the workshop is to bring together
researchers so that they can interact with each other and
share problems and recent discoveries. The workshop will be
held from May 11-13, 2009, at the University of Waterloo. It will
consist of invited talks, contributed talks, and a poster session.


The scope of the workshop includes, but is not limited to:

* quantum algorithms
* models of quantum computation
* quantum complexity theory
* simulation of quantum systems
* quantum cryptography
* quantum communication
* quantum estimation and measurement
* quantum noise
* quantum coding theory
* fault-tolerant quantum computing
* entanglement theory

Invited Speakers:

Masato Koashi (Osaka University)

John Preskill (Caltech)

Miklos Santha (Université Paris Sud)

Graeme Smith (IBM Watson)

Stephanie Wehner (Caltech)

Post Proceedings:

A selection of the papers will be published in the official postproceedings
in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) by Springer

Program Committee:

Panos Aliferis (IBM Watson)

Dave Bacon (University of Washington)

Andrew Childs (Institute for Quantum Computing, University of Waterloo; Chair)

Masahito Hayashi (Tohoku University)

Patrick Hayden (McGill University)

Hiroshi Imai (University of Tokyo/ERATO-SORST)

Kazuo Iwama (Kyoto University)

Yasuhito Kawano (NTT)

Norbert Lütkenhaus (IQC, University of Waterloo)

Chiara Macchiavello (INFM, University of Pavia)

Michele Mosca (IQC, University of Waterloo/Perimeter Institute)

Maarten van den Nest (MPQ)

Masanao Ozawa (Nagoya University)

Robert Raussendorf (University of British Columbia)

Ben Reichardt (IQC, University of Waterloo)

Renato Renner (ETH Zurich)

Alain Tapp (University of Montreal)

Barbara Terhal (IBM Watson)

John Watrous (IQC, University of Waterloo)

Andreas Winter (University of Bristol/CQT, National University of Singapore)

Shigeru Yamashita (Nara Institute of Science and Technology)

Organizing Committee:

Anne Broadbent (IQC, University of Waterloo)

Sarah Croke (Perimeter Institute)

Dmitri Maslov (IQC, University of Waterloo)

Michele Mosca (IQC, University of Waterloo/Perimeter Institute; Chair)

Simone Severini (IQC, University of Waterloo)

Tzu-Chieh Wei (IQC, University of Waterloo)

Important Dates:

Submission deadline: January 18, 2009 (23:59 EST)

Notification of acceptance/rejection: March 9, 2009

Contact Information: (TQC Organizing Committee)

For updated information, please visit the conference website