Energy Delta Convention 2008 (EDC2008)

Venue: Martiniplaza

Location: Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands

Event Date/Time: Nov 17, 2008 End Date/Time: Nov 19, 2008
Registration Date: Nov 17, 2008
Early Registration Date: Nov 10, 2008
Report as Spam


The Energy Delta Convention 2008 hosts an international platform for ca. 750 representatives from science, business and governments. The convention will enable a dialogue between participants to stimulate an understanding of energy scenarios and strategies for change.

The Energy Delta Convention is a high level energy conference. For the 2008 edition keynote speakers are
- Mr. Jeremy Rifkin, FOET, USA
- Mr. Marcel Kramer, N.V. Nederlandse Gasunie, the Netherlands
- Mr. Peter Kalas, Government of Czech Republic, Czech Republic
- Mr. Robert Dixon, International Energy Agency, France
- Mr. Nebojsa Nakicenovic, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
- Ms. Claudia Kemfert, Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany

All speakers of the parallel sessions, ca. 75 invited by the organizational committee, are senior experts.

The EDC2008 focusses on:
- Renewable Energy
- Natural sas as a transition fuel
- Carbon Capture & Storage
- Innovative Biofuels
- System Integration

Overall theme is energy transition. We think this can only be achieved by cooperation between companies, authorities and knowledge institutions, which is reflected in the 'triangular' background of the keynote speakers and parallel session speakers.

Parallel sessions
There are ca. 20 parallel sessions that deal with subjects in the field of the above listed themes. As mentioned before, the overall objective is to present themes and energy transition from the perspective of business, government and science. A session takes 90 minutes, 20 minutes for three speaker (business, science & authorities), 30 minutes left for discussion.

The Energy Delta Convention 2008 (EDC2008) will take place in November 17-19, Groningen, the Netherlands.

More information can be found on


Additional Information

Convention fees: regular fee 275 euro student fee 50 euro