Venue: Auditorium Jacques Thierry

Location: Brussels, Belgium

Event Date/Time: Dec 15, 2008 End Date/Time: Dec 16, 2008
Registration Date: Dec 12, 2008
Report as Spam


On the 15th and 16th of December 2008, the Institute of European Studies of the University of Louvain, in collaboration with the University's Law Faculty and the Energy Law Research Forum (E.L.R.F.), will be organising a high-level conference on European energy security and climate change in Brussels. The objective of the two-day conference is to present the legal and geopolitical aspects of these two major European challenges.The first day will offer a more general perspective while the second will concentrate upon specific legal questions closely related to the main themes developed on day one.

In order to propose a unique event, the University has gathered the
leading figures in the field and many recognized specialists:

Prof. Peter Cameron­ (Dundee University), Prof. Leigh Hancher (Tilburg University), Prof. Kurt Deketelaere (K.U. Leuven), Prof. Philip Andrews-Speed (Dundee University), Prof. Sebastian Oberthür (Vrije Universiteit Brussels - IPCC), Prof. Paul. Nihoul (Université catholique de Louvain), Prof. Jean-Pascal van Ypersele (Université catholique de Louvain - IPCC), Prof. Nicolas de Sadeleer (Facultés Universitaires Saint-Louis), Prof. Yves Smeers (Université catholique de Louvain), Dr.Sanam Haghighi (Econgas), Dr. Shamil Yenikeyeff (Oxford Institute for Energy Studies), Mr. Claude Mandil (Former President IEA), Mr. André Mernier (Secretary General of the Energy Charter), Mr. Christian Cleutinx (Director General of Euratom Supply Agency), Dr. Jorge Vasconcelos (Former president of CEER), Mr. Jean-Arnold Vinois (DG TREN), Mr. Jean-Marie Devos (Secretary General EUROGAS), Mr. Michael Gillis (Distrigas), Mr. Fawaz al Bitar (Greenpeace), Mr. Bruno Defrasnes(Electrabel), Mrs Marie-Pierre Fauconnier (Belgian Ministry of Economy),Mr. Bernard Snoy et d'Oppuers (Coordinator of the economic and environmental activities of the OSCE), Prof. Yves Lejeune (Université catholique de Louvain), Prof. Marc Fallon (Université catholique de Louvain), Mr. Angus Johnston (Cambridge University), Mr. Kim Talus (Helsinki University), Mr. Tim Vermeir (K.U. Leuven), Mr. Michaël Hunt(Université catholique de Louvain), Mr. Bram Delvaux (K.U. Leuven), Mrs Catherine Banet (Oslo University), Mr. Anatole Boute (Groningen University), Mr. Andrei Belyi (Higher School of Economics), Mr. Piotr Pszczel (University of Lublin), Mr. Omotola Adu (Dundee University), Mr.Leonardo Massai (T.M.C. Asser Institute), Mr. Sergey Seliverstov(Moscow State University), Mr. Guy Block (Janson Baugniet), Mr. Pascal Boucquey (CMS DeBacker), Mr. Ivan-Serge Brouhns (CMS DeBacker), Mr.Léonard Hawkes (DBB).

In addition to these key figures, members of industry, public authorities, lawyers, professional associations, journalists, academics, lobbyists and NGOs will also be encouraged to participate in the debate.

Such a top-level conference on energy and climate change has never been organized at university level in Belgium and we truly hope it will attract a large number of participants given the relevance of the subject and its venue, close to the heart of the European institutions.

Thanks to generous sponsorship, we are able to offer you this two-day conference package for 160 Euros (lunches included).


Rue du Trône, 1, 1000 Bruxelles, Belgium