Cybercrime and Trustworthy Computing (CTC 2009)

Venue: Brisbane

Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

Event Date/Time: Jul 07, 2009 End Date/Time: Jul 10, 2009
Abstract Submission Date: Feb 15, 2009
Report as Spam


CTC-2009 is a workshop held in conjunction with the 6th International Conference on Autonomic and Trusted Computing The conference is held on 7-10 July 2009 in Brisbane, Australia.

Cybercrime continues to be a growth industry, assisted by a combination of technical factors, such as insecure hardware and software platforms, and psychological factors, such as user error or naivety. The objective of this workshop is to bring together two distinct groups to encourage further collaboration - those who are working on researching cybercrime activity, such as phishing and malware, and those who are working on technical countermeasures.

The scope of the workshop is reasonably narrow, to ensure a complementary match between capability and need. Papers should either be empirically or rationally based explorations of problems in cybercrime, or propose solutions and/or countermeasures to the most pressing cybercrimes.

Example topic areas on the cybercrime theme might include:

Phishing, SPAM
Malware, Botnets
Scams, including advance fee fraud, romance scams etc
Forensic means to classify e-mail messages or web pages soliciting cybercrime or providing a vector for attack
Forensic means to cluster and identify different groups or modus operandi arising from distinct "kits"
For the countermeasures side, topic areas might include:
User education and/or psychological operations
A major theme of the event will be to plan future research interactions and relationships between industry and academia.

All submissions are to be made using the Easychair system. At least one author of each accepted paper is required to register and present their work at the conference, otherwise the paper will not be included in the proceedings. The workshop proceedings will be published by IEEE (EI indexed). Selected papers, after extension and further revisions, will be published in a special issue of a prestigious journal.
Papers should be written using the IEEE CS style, 6 pages.

Paper Submission Deadline: 15 February 2009
Paper Status Notification: 25 March 2009
Camera-ready Due: 10 April 2009

Program Committee Members

Professor Chris Mitchell, Royal Holloway, University of London
Professor Josef Pieprzyk, Macquarie University
Associate Professor Ray Hunt, Canterbury University
Associate Professor Paul Watters, University of Ballarat
Associate Professor Hank Wolfe, Otago University
Dr Liping Ma, University of Ballarat

Mr. Simon Brown, Westpac
Mr. Richard Johnson, Westpac
Mr. Stephen McCombie, National Australia Bank
Ms. Megan O'Neill, IBM
Mr. Ben Reardon, National Australia Bank
Mr. Richard Martin, APACS
Mr. Cameron Woolfe, IBM
Commander Neil Gaughan, Australian Federal Police

Website Address

Contact details
Email queries to