OnTheMove Federated Conferences & Workshops 2009 (OTM 2009)

Venue: Tivoli Marina Conference Hotel

Location: Vilamoura, Algarve, Portugal

Event Date/Time: Nov 01, 2009 End Date/Time: Nov 06, 2009
Registration Date: Oct 15, 2009
Early Registration Date: Aug 25, 2009
Abstract Submission Date: Jun 08, 2009
Paper Submission Date: Jun 15, 2009
Report as Spam



"OnTheMove (OTM) to Meaningful Internet Systems and Ubiquitous Computing" co-locates five successful related and complementary conferences:

* International Symposium on Distributed Objects and Applications (DOA'09)
* International Conference on Ontologies, Databases and Applications of Semantics (ODBASE'09)
* International Conference on Cooperative Information Systems (CoopIS'09)
* International Symposium on Grid computing, high-performAnce and Distributed Applications (GADA'09)
* International Symposium on Information Security (IS'09)

All five "federated" conferences share the rigorous scientific study of the distributed, conceptual and ubiquitous aspects of modern computing systems, and share the resulting application-pull created by the WWW. For DOA'09, the primary emphasis will be on the distributed objects underlying the required archtitectures; ODBASE'09 concentrates on the knowledge bases, databases and methodologies required for enabling semantical use; CoopIS'09 will report on the state of the art on interaction of such technology and methods within an enterprise or networked organization; IS'09 covers fundamental issues related to security in the networked world, and for GADA'09, the focus will be on the integration of heterogeneous yet highly performant computing systems and data resources with the aim of providing a global computing space such as e.g. Web Science intends to become.

As they must, these subject areas overlap in interesting and occasionally fascinating ways, and in fact the organizers specifically welcome submissions in any of the areas that also emphasize the envisaged impact on or from relevant issues in the others. To stimulate this "cross-pollination", we offer a shared program of famous and representative keynote speakers (to be announced later), as well as a parallel program consisting of a number of highly topical workshops covering emerging related areas. We therefore continuously encourage new workshop proposals!

We especially draw attention to our redefined and comprehensive program for accepted PhD students, the OnTheMove Academy: http://www.onthemove-academy.org



Abstracts Submission Deadline: June 8, 2009
Paper Submission Deadline: June 15, 2009
Acceptance Notification: August 10, 2009
Camera ready received: August 24, 2009
Registration Deadline: August 24, 2009
CONFERENCE dates: November 1-6, 2009



General Co-Chairs
* Robert Meersman, VU Brussels, Belgium
* Tharam Dillon, Curtin University, Perth, Australia
* Pilar Herrero, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain

Workshops General Chair
* Pilar Herrero, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain

CoopIS 2009 PC co-Chairs (coopis2009 (at) onthemove-conferences.org)
* Ted Goranson, Earl Research, USA
* Hai Zhuge, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
* Moira C. Norrie, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

DOA 2009 PC co-chairs (doa2009 (at) onthemove-conferences.org)
* Mark Little, Red Hat, UK
* Jean-Jacques Dubray, Premera, Mountlake Terrace, WA, USA
* Fabio Panizeri, University of Bologna, Italy

GADA General Chairs (gada2009 (at) onthemove-conferences.org)
* Maria S. Pérez, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
* Pilar Herrero, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain

GADA PC co-chairs (gada2009 (at) onthemove-conferences.org)
* Marcin Paprzycki, The Systems Research Institute of the Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
* Heinz Stockinger, Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics, Switzerland
* Manish Parashar, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, USA
* Laurent Lefevre, The French Institute for Research in Computer Science (INRIA), University of Lyon, France

IS 2009 PC co-Chairs (is2009 (at) onthemove-conferences.org)
* Gritzalis Stefanos, University of the Aegean, Greece
* Kai Hwang, University of Southern California, USA
* Xueqi Cheng, Chinese Academy of Science, China

ODBASE 2009 PC co-chairs (odbase2009 (at) onthemove-conferences.org)
* Avigdor Gal, Technion, Israel Institute of Technology
* Annika Hinze, University of Waikato, New Zealand
* Sharma Chakravarthy, The University of Texas at Arlington, US

OTM Academy Dean
* Prof. dr. em. Erich Neuhold, Multimedia Information Systems Group, University of Vienna, Austria

OTM Academy Organising chairs (academy (at) onthemove-conferences.org)
* Peter Spyns, STARLab, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
* Anja Schanzenberger, University of Applied Sciences Augsburg, Germany