National Physics Conference 2009 (PERFIK2009)-Malaysia (PERFIK2009)

Venue: Avillion Legacy Hotel

Location: Malacca City, Malacca, Malaysia

Event Date/Time: Dec 07, 2009 End Date/Time: Dec 09, 2009
Registration Date: Dec 07, 2009
Early Registration Date: Oct 07, 2009
Abstract Submission Date: Jul 15, 2009
Paper Submission Date: Dec 04, 2009
Report as Spam


National Physics Conference 2009



The National Physics Conference 2009 or PERFIK2009 is the latest in the series of annual PERFIK conferences jointly organized by the Malaysian Institute of Physics (IFM) with physics departments of local universities/institutes. PERFIK2009 will be hosted by the School of Physics and Materials Studies, Universiti Teknologi MARA and will take place from 7th to 9th December 2009 at the Avillion Legacy Hotel in the historic State of Malacca, Malaysia.

The aim of the conference is to bring together physicists and fellow scientists working in basic and applied research areas for constructive academic discussion and interaction. The conference will include a wide range of plenary, invited and contributed talks from local and international speakers, along with poster sessions. Based on previous PERFIK conferences, we anticipate a large number of participants representing different areas of physics at this meeting.

One of the principal features of this annual conference is the opportunity it gives to young researchers to present their research work and results through both oral and poster sessions. The PERFIK2009 provides Best Poster awards to the authors who display and present their work effectively. The proceedings of this conference will be published in internationally referenced publications after peer-review process.

PERFIK2009 covers all areas of physics, under the following disciplines

A. Astronomy and Astrophysics
B. Atomic and molecular physics
C. Condensed Matter and Material Physics
D. High Energy and Particle Physics
E. Nuclear, Radiation and Plasma Physics
F. Photonics and Laser Physics
G. Bioinformatics, Computational Physics and Bio Physics
H. Other related fields in Physics

Objectives of PERFIK2009

PERFIK2009 aims to provide a forum for knowledge exchange between different interdisciplinary fields of physics as well as bring together scientists working in academic and applied research areas for constructive interactions. The conference is organized to meet the following purposes;

• Enabling participants to meet and exchange knowledge and experience
• Assisting and promoting new and current areas of physics
• Involving young researchers in knowledge exchange activities
• Promoting research opportunities and networking between different research groups and institutions
• Encouraging dissemination of physics knowledge at the local and international levels

Target participant for PERFIK2009 are:

 Local and international researchers
 Local and international academicians
 Physicists, scientists and technologists in the above fields

Invited Plenary Speakers
1. Prof. Dr Dai Hirashima (Superconductivity)
2. Prof. Dr Rosy Teh Chooi Gim (Theoretical Physics)
3. Prof. Dr Suresh Chandra ( Solid State Ionics)
4. Prof. Dr Hans-Werner Kammer (Polymer Physics)
5. Prof. Dr Maurizio Ferrari (Photonics)

Conference Keynote speaker: Professor Dr Roslan Abdul Shukor

Important Dates
1.Tentative deadlines for receipt of Abstract:
July 15, 2009
2.Notification of Abstract Acceptance:
September 7, 2009
3.Deadline for Early Registration:
December 7, 2009
4.Deadline for Full Paper Submission:
December 4, 2009
5.Onsite Registration
December 7, 2009

Proceedings Publication

1.AIP Proceedings (ISI THOMSON)-main publication
2.Sains Malaysiana journal (SCOPUS and ISI THOMSON)-selected papers

Local (non-IFM members) RM 790
Local (IFM members) RM 690
Student RM 550
International Participant USD 300


PERFIK2009 Secretariat
School of Physics and Material Studies,
Faculty of Applied Sciences,
Universiti Teknologi MARA,
40450 Shah Alam, Selangor. MALAYSIA.
Tel: (603) 5544 4613 (Fauzi) Fax: (603) 5544 4562



Committee members

YBhg. Dato’ Seri Prof. Dr. Ibrahim Abu Shah
Vice-Chancellor, Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM)

Prof. Dato’ Dr. Muhamad Rasat Muhamad
University Malaya
Prof. Dr. Ahmad Shukri Mustapa Kamal
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic and International Affairs),USM
Prof. Dr. Abu Bakar Abdul Majeed
Assistant Vice-Chancellor (Research), UiTM
Prof. Dr. Saifollah Abdullah
Dean, Faculty of Applied Sciences, UiTM
Prof. Chia Swee Ping
President, Malaysian Institute of Physics
Prof. Dr. Kurunathan Ratnavelu
Hon. Secretary, Malaysian Institute of Physics
Prof. Dr. Roslan Abd Shukor

Advisory Committee (Tentative)
Prof. Dr Harith Ahmad
Prof. Dr Samsudi Sakrani
Prof. Dr Elias Saion
Prof. Dr Kamarul Azizi Ibrahim
Prof. Dr P. Venugopal Reddy
Prof. Dr. Henry J. Ramos
Prof. Dr Alfred Huan
Prof. Dr Suresh Chandra
Prof. Dr Hans-Werner Kammer

Proposed Local Organizing Committee

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ahmad Kamal Yahya (A. K. Yahya)

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mohd. Kamil Abd. Rahman
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mohd Salleh Mohd Deni

Secretariat and Registration
Mohd Fauzi Bin Maulud- Secretary
Annie Maria Mahat- Assistant Secretary
Zakiah Muhamad
Zetty Sahrizat

Mohd. Isa Mohd Yusof
Misbah Hassan

Other committee members

a.Zuhairusnizam Md Darus
b.Masnawi Mustaffa

2.Scientific and Publication
a.Assoc. Prof. Dr. Muhd Zu Azhan Yahya
b.Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ahmad Kamal Yahya
c.Prof. Madya Dr. Mohd. Kamil Abd. Rahman
d.Dr. Mahesh Kumar Telari
e.Dr. Tan Winie
f.Dr. Ab Malik Marwan

a.Dr. Tan Winie
b.Syafawati Nadia Muhamad
c.Asmiza Supar

4.Exhibition and Sponsorship
a.Assoc. Prof. Md Yusoff Teeran
b.Prof. Madya Dr. Mohd Salleh Mohd Deni
c.Azlan Zakaria

5.Logistics and Transportation
a.Dr. Ab Malik Marwan Ali
b.Farah Liyana Muhamad Khair


Additional Information

CONFERENCE FEES Local (non-IFM members) RM 790 Local (IFM members) RM 690 Student RM 550 International Participant USD 300