International Workshop on Advances in Peer-to-Peer Technology - IWAP2PT’09 (IWAP2P)

Venue: IIITB, Bangalore


Event Date/Time: Dec 09, 2009 End Date/Time: Dec 11, 2009
Early Registration Date: Oct 31, 2009
Abstract Submission Date: Sep 10, 2009
Paper Submission Date: Sep 10, 2009
Report as Spam


The enduring digital insurrection has brought on the appearance of new network applications intended to speed up worldwide sharing of information. The applications have embraced the well-known peer-to-peer (P2P) technology in innovative ways, eternally altering the world of personal computing. P2P systems—an alternative to conventional client–server systems— mostly support applications that offer file sharing and content exchange like music, movies, etc. The concept has also been effectively employed for high performance computing, Internet-based telephony etc. The unanticipated growth in popularity of P2P systems has raised a number of significant problems. This situation has led academicians and industry people towards stupendous research in the field.
The objective of International Workshop on Advances in Peer-to-Peer Technology - IWAP2PT’09 is to bring together researchers and practitioners in the areas of P2P computing, and to provide an opportunity to share latest research results and thoughts on P2P systems and thereby uphold the research activities in this area.
IWAP2PT’09 invites researchers to submit their original and unpublished work that demonstrates current research in all areas of P2P computing. All submissions will be thoroughly peer-reviewed by experts in the field based on originality, significance and clarity, only papers presenting novel research results or successful innovative applications are considered for publication in conference proceedings. All the accepted papers will be published in the IEEE Xplore digital library. Papers in IEEE format (.pdf file) must be submitted electronically through EDAS ( The Camera-ready paper should be double-column, IEEE format, but in 10 pt font, and no longer than six pages (including all figures and references). Detailed instructions will be given after the accepted papers announcement.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

o Availability Management
o Digital rights management
o Fault Tolerance in P2P Systems
o Grid Computing and P2P grids
o Load Balancing Techniques
o Mobile P2P Networks and mobile data management
o Nature-inspired algorithms for P2P
o Novel Architecture of P2P Systems
o P2P and Autonomic Computing
o P2P and Collaborative Learning
o P2P applications and services
o P2P measurements and control
o P2P mobile sensors networks
o P2P Resource Management
o P2P services and Cloud computing
o P2P Economics
o P2P Live Streaming
o Privacy in P2P Systems
o Quality of Service and Quality of Experience
o Resource Discovery in P2P Systems
o Social Networks
o Solutions for Free Riding and Partial Coverage in P2P
o Trust and Reputation Management in P2P Systems
o Video on Demand Peer-To-Peer File Sharing

Important Dates

Paper submission: September 10, 2009
Notification of acceptance: October 15, 2009
Camera-ready version: October 30, 2009

Workshop Chairs

General Chairs

Sajid Hussain, Acadia University, Canada
K. Chandra Sekaran, National Institute of Technology Karnataka, India
Vicent Cholvi, Universitat Jaume I, Spain

Program Chairs

Sabu M. Thampi, L.B.S Institute of Technology for Women, Kerala, India
Subir Saha, International Institute of Information Technology, Bangalore, India
Farag Azzedin, King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, Saudi Arabia

Technical Programme Committee Members

Achuthsankar S. Nair, University of Kerala, India
Avinash Srinivasan, Bloomsburg University, USA
Bijaya Ketan Panigrahi, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, India
Deepak Garg, Thapar University, Patiala, India
Eduardo F. Nakamura, Research and Technological Innovation Center (FUCAPI), Brazil
G.Panda, Indian Institute of Technology, Orissa, India
Imran Ahmad, NWFP University of Engineering and Technology, Pakistan
Ing. Jianguo Ding, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
Jayasudha J.S., Sree Chitra Thirunal College of Engineering, Trivandrum , India
Madhukumar S.D., National institute of Technology Calicut, India
Maode Ma, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Marc de Kamps, University of Leeds, United Kingdom
Nidhi Rustagi, Inha University, Incheon, South Korea
Niloy Ganguly, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India
Partha S. Mallick, School of Electrical Sciences, Vellore Institute of Technology, India
Rajasree M.S., L.B.S Institute of Technology for Women, Trivandrum, India
S.Parthasarathy, Bharathidasan University, India
Sathish Rajasekhar, RMIT-University, Melbourne, Australia
Seema Verma, Banasthali University, Rajasthan, India
Stéphane Bressan, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Swagatam Das, Jadavpur University, Kolkata, India
Tiptur Gangaraju Basavaraju, National Institute of Technology Karnataka, India
Victor Govindaswamy, Texas A&M University, Texas, USA
Vijay Kumar Chaurasiya, Indian Institute of Information Technology - Allahabad
Vikas Saxena, Jaypee Institute of Information Technology University, India
Xinheng(Henry) Wang, Swansea University, Singleton Park, United Kingdom
Yingwu Zhu, Department of CSSE, Seattle University, USA
Zhihua Cui, Taiyuan University of Science and Technology, P.R.China