Economics and Psychology of Football: 3rd Biennial International Conference (EconPsyFootball)

Venue: Heythrop College, University of London

Location: London, United Kingdom

Event Date/Time: May 29, 2010 End Date/Time: May 30, 2010
Registration Date: May 01, 2010
Early Registration Date: Mar 31, 2010
Abstract Submission Date: Feb 19, 2010
Report as Spam


In the exciting lead up to the World Cup in South Africa in 2011, Heythrop College, University of London, will host the third international conference on the the ‘Economics and Psychology of Football.’ The aim of the conference is to gather scholars, the media and other interested parties to discuss aspects of judgment and decision making in the world’s most popular sport.

Some of the topics under scientific investigation may include influences on referee decision making, the role of coaches and managers in team performance, judgment and decision making of agents, betting and investor behaviour, social influences on team performance, the mechanisms of football markets, and the role of technology in football. The scope will not be limited to these areas and other contributions related to these topics, or to judgment and decision making in football more generally defined, are most welcome.

Keynote speakers will include: Professor Ignacio Palacios-Huerta (London School of Economics) with others to be confirmed shortly.

Call for papers:

We invite contributions from all interested parties, in the form of scholarly papers, posters or panel discussions. If you would like to contribute a poster or paper to the conference or would like to propose a panel discussion and/or be a panellist, please send a short abstract (up to 300 words) to Dr. Katie Page ( by Friday 19th February 2010. Authors will be notified of their acceptance in March, 2010.

Early conference registration starts in March, 2010. Information on conference fees and accommodation will be provided shortly and be provided on this site.

If you have any questions about the conference then please email the conference organisers on

Programme committee members: Patric Andersson, Peter Ayton, Carsten Schmidt, Peter Dawson, Martin Kocher, Katie Page, Lionel Page, and Benno Torgler.

Organising committee members: Katie Page, Lionel Page, Peter Dawson, and Ovidiu Creanga.


Kensington Square
United Kingdom