Conference on 4th Thermal Power India 2010

Venue: New Delhi, India

Location: New Delhi, Delhi, India

Event Date/Time: Jan 28, 2010 End Date/Time: Jan 29, 2010
Report as Spam


Council of Power Utilities organizing the fourth edition of 'Thermal Power India'- a conference & exhibition series focussing on issues in the power generation industry covering coal, gas, oil & nuclear power generation. The Thermal Power India series offers a unique platform to learn, discuss and exchange experience about the major structural, technical, managerial & regulatory changes and business opportunities in the power generation segment amongst various stakeholders.

The power sector is one of the biggest growth sector in India. The Government of India has set a capacity addition target of 78,000 MW by 2012. According to the estimates of Government of India, investments of more than 100 billion dollars would be required in power generation in the next ten years. In recent years, there’s been an uninterrupted policy focus resulting in forward looking India Electricty Act 2003, delicensing of thermal power generation, restructuring of SEBs, proper market for power, setting up of power exchanges amongst other initiatives. As such, significant project opportunities are expected in the power generation sector and the interest in the sector is at an all-time high.

‘4th Thermal Power India 2010’ will offer organisations with business interests in the region to leverage the opportunity and play a major role in one of the world's fastest developing power markets. It is a premium platform to meet decision-makers, policy planners, business associates & prospective clients .

Conference Highlights


Ideal occasion to meet, interact & network with key stake holders committed to best practices in power generation


Two days full of informative & innovative conference sessions to showcase contributions, advancement, technologies and opportunities available


Well received series of Conference


‘Thermal Power India 1’- held in December 1999 in New Delhi as part of Thermal Centenary celebration in India- was attended by more than 1000 participants from the industry- underlining the event's importance and its position.


‘Thermal Power India 2’- held in December 2007 in New Delhi received overwhelming response and was a sell-out success.


‘3rd Thermal Power India 2009’- held in February 2009 in New Delhi was also well received and attended by senior most stake holders from the power industry.


Prominent Speakers in 2nd & 3rd Thermal Power India included Mr Anil Razdan, Secretary, Ministry of Power; Mr V P Joy, Joint Secretary (Th, IPP, FS), Ministry of Power; Mr T Sankaralingam, CMD, NTPC; Mr D N Prasad, CMD, MP Power Generating Company; Dr Sudhir Kumar Calla, CMD, RRVUNL; Mr H L Bajaj, Member (Technical), Appellate Tribunal for Electricity; Dr Vimal Kumar, Head- Fly Ash Unit, Govt of India; Mr Sunil Verma, Member (E&C), CEA; Mr A B L Srivastava, Director, NHPC; Mr K V Muthukrishnan, Executive Director, BHEL; Dr Chandan Chowdhury, CEO, IFS Solutions; Dr Ira Jaroslav, Director, SKODA Power; Mr Ashwani Sachar, General Manager- Power Plants, Wartsila; Mr G S Bindra, General Manager- Incharge, Power Sector, BHEL; Mr John O Thames, Engineering Director, Fluor Daniel; Mr Luc Jacquet, MD- South East Asia, EDF; Mr Paul Felten, Senior Vice-President, AREVA, France; Mr Rajesh K Mediratta, Vice President, Indian Energy Exchange; Mr Reji Kr Pillai, Head - Energy & Utilities, IBM; Mr S Padmanaban, Dy Director & Senior Advisor, USAID; Mr V Sethuraman, Director (Power), Neyveli Lignite Corporation; Ms Sunita Kumar, Director- Nuclear Energy Affairs, AREVA etc.; Prof Avinash Chandra, Head- Centre for Energy Studies, IIT- Delhi amongst others

(the designations of the speakers reflect the positions held by them at the time of the event)


Companies that have previously attended Thermal Power India series include Adani, Alstom, APGCL, Appellate Tribunal for Electricity, Areva, ASEB, Atomic Energy of Canada, Austrian Trade, Balaji Coke, Baldor Electric, Barco, BHEL, Binder Connector (Nanjing), Birla Power, BMR & Associates, BP Energy, BSES Rajdhani Power, Carborundum Universal, CD-adapco India, CEA, CESC, Chadha Power, CSEB, Chettinad Power, Chitale & Chitale, Coal India, Conzerv, Crisil, Damodar Valley Corporation, Delhi Transco, Doosan, Driplex Water, Eco Securities, EDF, Electrosteel Casting, Embassy of Poland, Ernst & Young, Essar Power, ETA Star Energy, Evonik, Exide, Exxon Mobil, Facor Power, Fieldstone Capital, Flakt India, Flender, Fluor Daniel, French Embassy, Frost & Sullivan, Gammon, Gaz De France, GERB, GMR, GVK, Hägglunds, HPGCL, HCC, Henkel, Hindalco, Honeywell, IBM, IDFC, IFFCO, IFS, IIT, Indian Energy Exchange, Inspectorate, Interkarbon, International Paint, Ion Exchange, Itochu, JM Baxi, J Sagar, Jaipuria Group, Jindal, JSERC, K Raheja, Kalpataru, Karnataka Power Corporation, Kennametal, Kochhar, Kribhco, L&T Sargent & Lundy, Lafarge, Lahmeyer, Larsen & Toubro, Macawber Beekay, MAN Ferrostaal, Marsh, Mcnally Bharat, MECON, Metso Minerals, Microtex, Ministry of Heavy Industries, Ministry of Power, Ministry of Railways, Ministry of Science & Technology, Mitsubishi, Mitsui & Company, MN Dastur, Mott MacDonald, MPPGCL, Murugappa Morgan, Nalco, NBCC, Neyveli Lignite, NHDC, NHPC, NPTI, NTPC, Nuclear Power Corporation, PA Consulting, Petronet LNG, PFC, PGCIL, Planning Commission, Prakash Industries, PSEB, REC, Reliance, Rio Tinto, RRVUNL, Sahara Power, SBI Capital, SGS, Shree Cement, Shyam Steel, Singareni Coal, Skoda Power, SPX, SSNNL, Tata Power, Tecpro, Teledata Informatics, THDC, Thermax, Thermo Fisher Scientitic, TNEB, Trident Group, Triveni Engineering, Turbomach, UPRUNL, USAID, Vaas, Voith Turbo, Voltamp, Wartsila, WBSEB, Weir Minerals amongst others

Participant from India For 1delegate For 2 delegate For 3 delegate For 4 or more delegate
Regular Delegate Rs 17,000 Rs 16,000 Rs 15,000 Rs 13,000
Delegates from SEBs & successor
entities, SERCs, Public Sector
Electricity Undertakings Rs 10,000 Rs 9,000 Rs 8,000 Rs 6,000
Delegates from Academic
Institutions & Students Rs 12,000 Rs 11,000 Rs 10,000 Rs 9,000

Participant from Outside India For 1 delegate For 2 delegates For 3 delegates For 4 or more delegates
Regular Delegate USD 450 USD 425 USD 400 USD 375
Delegates from Academic
Institutions & Students USD 350 USD 325 USD 300 USD 275