Cybercrime and Trustworthy Computing (CTC 2010)

Venue: University of Ballarat

Location: Mount Helen, VIC, Australia

Event Date/Time: Jul 19, 2010 End Date/Time: Jul 20, 2010
Paper Submission Date: Apr 20, 2010
Report as Spam


2nd Cybercrime and Trustworthy Computing Workshop (CTC-2010)

Prof Josef Pieprzyk, Macquarie University and A/Prof Paul A. Watters, University of Ballarat.

Following on from the first workshop in Brisbane in 2009, CTC-2010 will be held from 19-20th July, 2010, at the Greenhill Enterprise Centre at the University of Ballarat, and will be hosted by the Internet Commerce Security Laboratory (ICSL).

Cybercrime continues to be a growth industry, assisted by a combination of technical factors, such as insecure hardware and software platforms, and psychological factors, such as user error or naivety. The objective of this workshop is to bring together two distinct groups to encourage further collaboration - those who are working on researching cybercrime activity, such as phishing and malware, and those who are working on technical countermeasures.

The scope of the workshop is reasonably narrow, to ensure a complementary match between capability and need. Papers should either be empirically or rationally based explorations of problems in cybercrime, or propose solutions and/or countermeasures to the most pressing cybercrimes.

Example topic areas on the cybercrime theme might include:

* Phishing, SPAM
* Malware, Botnets
* Scams, including advance fee fraud, romance scams etc
* Forensic means to classify e-mail messages or web pages soliciting cybercrime or providing a vector for attack
* Forensic means to cluster and identify different groups or modus operandi arising from distinct "kits"

For the countermeasures side, topic areas might include:

* Anti-phishing
* Anti-virus
* Anti-rootkit
* Anti-botnet
* User education and/or psychological operations

A major theme of the event will be to plan future research interactions and relationships between industry and academia.

All submissions are to be made using the Easychair system. At least one author of each accepted paper is required to register and present their work at the conference, otherwise the paper will not be included in the proceedings. The workshop proceedings will be published by IEEE (EI indexed). Selected papers, after extension and further revisions, will be published in a special issue of a prestigious journal. Papers should be written using the IEEE CS style, with up to 12 pages. All papers should be submitted for double-blind review, ie, no contact or author details should appear on the submitted paper.


* Paper Submission Deadline: 20 April 2009
* Paper Status Notification: 20 May 2009
* Papers Due in PDF Format: 18 June 2009
* Workshop: 19-20 July 2009

Program Committee Members

* Dr Jemal Abawajy, Deakin University
* Prof Lynn Batten, Deakin University
* Dr Kim-Kwang Raymond Choo, Australian Institute of Criminology
* Prof Colin Fidge, Queensland University of Technology
* Dr Julian Jang, CSIRO
* Dr Liping Ma, University of Ballarat
* Prof Chris Mitchell, Royal Holloway, University of London
* Dr Alex Ng, University of Ballarat
* Dr Man Qi, Canterbury Christ Church University
* Prof Josef Pieprzyk, Macquarie University
* Dr Jeremy Prichard, University of Tasmania
* Dr Joe St Sauver, University of Oregon
* Prof Willy Susilo, University of Wollongong
* Dr Fergus Toolan, University College Dublin
* Prof Randal Vaughn, Baylor University
* A/Prof Paul Watters, University of Ballarat
* Dr George Weir, University of Strathclyde
* Prof Wu Liu, Tsinghua University
* Dr Yan Wang, Macquarie University
* Prof Matthew Warren, Deakin University
* Dr John Zic, CSIRO


* Mr Milton Baar, Swoose Partnership
* Mr Simon Brown, Westpac
* Dr Ebrima Ceesay, Booz Allen Hamilton
* Mr David Gottlieb, Ebay
* Mr Aaron Herps, AFACT
* Mr Richard Johnson, Westpac
* Mr Stephen McCombie, Security Consultant
* Mr Theo Nassiokas, Deutsche Bank
* Ms Megan O'Neill, IBM
* Mr Ben Reardon, National Australia Bank
* Mr Cameron Woolfe, IBM

Law Enforcement:

* Commander Neil Gaughan, Australian Federal Police
* Detective Superintendent Brian Hay, Queensland Police Service
* Superintendent Nigel Phair, Australian Federal Police
* Mr Mauro Vignati, Reporting and Analysis Centre for Information Assurance, Switzerland

Costs and Registration
In order to encourage as many participants as possible, we will endeavour to keep registration costs as low as possible.

Contact details
Email queries to