Optical Supercomputing workshop 2010 (OSC 2010)

Venue: University Residential Center

Location: Bertinoro, Italy

Event Date/Time: Nov 17, 2010 End Date/Time: Nov 19, 2010
Early Registration Date: Aug 10, 2010
Abstract Submission Date: Nov 09, 2010
Paper Submission Date: Nov 09, 2010
Report as Spam


3rd International Workshop on
Optical SuperComputing in Bertinoro (OSC10)
November 17-19, Bertinoro, Italy



OSC, the International Workshop on Optical SuperComputing, is an annual forum for research presentations on all facets of optical computing for solving hard computation tasks. Optical computing devices have the potential to be the very next computing infrastructure. Optical computing presents an alternative to the frequency limitations, cross-talk phenomena and soft-errors of electronic devices. The natural parallelism of optical computing devices, coupled with the advance in fiber optics and optical switches make optical computing commercially viable. Research contributions to the theory, design, specification, analysis, implementation, or application of optical supercomputers are solicited.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
• Designs or demonstrations of optical computing devices and systems
• Algorithmics and complexity issues of optical computing
• Computation representation by photons and holograms
• Neural and brain inspired architectures
• Electro-optic devices for interacting with optical computing devices
• Practical implementations
• Analysis of existing devices and case studies
• Optical photonics and laser switching technologies
• Optical and photonic memories
• Optical signal processing subsystems
• Optical networks for high-performance computing
• Optical interconnections
• Quantum optical systems
• Applications and algorithms for optical devices
• Alpha particles, X-Rays and nano-technologies for optical computing


Submission deadline: June 3, 2010
Acceptance notification August 10, 2010
Camera-ready copy due September 03, 2010

Steering and Organization Committee:

H. John Caulfield Fisk University
Shlomi Dolev Ben-Gurion University
Yeshaiahu Fainman UCSD
Tobias Haist Stuttgart Universitat
Mihai Oltean Babes-Bolyai University

Program Committee:

Hossin A. Abdeldayem, Nasa, USA
George Barbastathis, MIT, USA
Antonella Bogoni, CNIT, Italy
John H. Caulfield, Fisk University, USA
Shlomi Dolev, Ben-Gurion University, Israel
Yeshaiahu Fainman, University of California, USA
Dietmar Fey, University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
Debabrata Goswami, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, India
Tobias Haist, Stuttgart Universitat, Germany
Zhanghua Han, University of Alberta, Canada
Jürgen Jahns, FernUniversität in Hagen, Germany
Efstratios Kehayas, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
Shimon Levit, Weizmann Institute, Israel
Alastair McAulay, Lehigh University, USA
Kouichi Nitta, Kobe University, Japan
Mihai Oltean, Babes-Bolyai University, Romania
Wolfgang Osten, Universität Stuttgart, Germany
Haldun Ozaktas, Bilkent University, Turkey
Joseph Rosen, Ben-Gurion University, Israel
Sukhdev Roy, Dayalbagh Educational Institute, India
Natan T. Shaked, Duke University, USA
Joseph Shamir, Technion Institute, Israel
Dan Tamir, Texas State University, USA
Kristof Vandoorne, Ghent University, Belgium
Damien Woods, Caltech, USA
Zeev Zalevsky, Bar-Ilan University, Israel
Xinliang Zhang, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China