Solar Asia 2011 International Conference, Kandy, Sri Lanka 28-30 July 2011 (Solar Asia 2011)

Venue: Kandy, Sri Lanka

Location: Kandy, Kandy, Sri Lanka

Event Date/Time: Jul 28, 2011 End Date/Time: Jul 30, 2011
Registration Date: Jun 15, 2011
Early Registration Date: May 30, 2011
Abstract Submission Date: Mar 30, 2011
Paper Submission Date: Jun 15, 2011
Report as Spam



The venue of the conference is the Institute of Fundamental Studies (IFS), Kandy, Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka lies in the tropics, south of India. Its fascinating variety in climate and landscape and rich cultural heritage has, for many centuries, attracted travelers from all over the world. It still continues to do so offering a diversity of attractions and a way of life which combines a dynamic present with a tradition bound past.

The Institute of Fundamental Studies (IFS) is situated in close proximity to Kandy, the picturesque hill capital and the second city of Sri Lanka. The IFS is only 5 km away from the University of Peradeniya, Royal Botanic Gardens and the Central Agriculture Research Stations at Gannoruwa. The temperatures in Kandy hovers around 25 oC (75 oF) in July/August. The world renowned glittering annual Kandy Esala Perahera, which is 235 years old will be held from July 31st – 14th August, 2011. Nestling midst low hills and looped by the island’s longest river, Kandy is still the house of arts and crafts, music, dance and song since historic times.

The IFS was established in 1981 as a premier research institute in the country to carry out advanced scientific research in different disciplines. Research on Dye sensitized solar cells has been an active research area at the IFS for nearly three decades.

Abstracts are invited for oral and poster presentations. Full papers will be published in the conference proceedings. Papers will be subjected to a stringent review process and will only be accepted based on their merits.
The abstract should be prepared in English, single-spaced, using Times New Roman 10 pt font with margins of 2.5 cm and using Microsoft Word. The abstract must not exceed 1 page A4 and should be sent by email to The message should have a subject starting with ‘Solar Asia 2011 Abstract Submission’; the file should be named with the surname of the first author (and a running number if more than one paper is submitted, e.g. Surname1). The abstract should include: applicable subject area, full title, names and affiliations of the authors including full contact details of the author for correspondence, purpose of the work, scientific approach, relevance, summary of the results and conclusions and indicate preference for poster or oral presentation.

Abstract submission:
30 March 2011
Notice of acceptance:
15 April 2011
Full paper submission :
15 June 2011
Earlybird registration deadline :
15 May 2011

Guidelines for the preparation of full papers and posters will be available at the conference website by 30th March 2011.

Before 15 May 2011

After 15 May 2011
Regular participants
USD 400

USD 450
Student participants
USD 250

USD 275
Accompanying Members
USD 200

USD 225

Papers will not be included in the printed proceedings unless at least one of the authors is registered before 15th June 2011. The registration fee will cover the Welcome Reception, a copy of the conference proceedings, lunch and tea/coffee during the conference period, the Banquet Dinner, local transport between the recommended hotels and the conference venue (IFS) and one sight seeing excursion. For accompanying members, the registration fee will cover the Welcome Reception, the Banquet Dinner and one sight seeing excursion.
Download Registration Form:


Organizing Committee
Solar Asia 2011
Institute of Fundamental Studies (IFS)
Hantana Road
Sri Lanka

Tel: +94 81 2232002
Fax: +94 81 2232131

Byung Tae Ahn, S. Korea
K.L. Chopra, India
I.M. Dharmadasa, UK
Ramesh Dhere, USA
Elvira Fortunato, Portugal
Soud Ghani, Qatar
Michael Graetzel, Switzerland
Claes-Gooran Granquist, Sweden
Muhammad Ibrahim, Bangladesh
Obaidul Islam, Bangladesh

Akinori Konno. Japan
C.D. Lokhande, India
Bengt-Erik Mellander, Sweden
Tsutomu Miyasaka, Japan
Hari Reehal, UK
Hiroshi Segawa, Japan
Siva Sivananthan, USA
Leone Spiccia, Australia
A.K.Arof, Malaysia
Shozo Yanagida, Japan


C.B. Dissanayake, Dirctor, IFS
J.M.S. Bandara, IFS
K. Premaratne, University of Peradeniya
O.A. Ileperuma, University of Peradeniya
M.A. Careem, University of Peradeniya
W.P. Siripala, University of Kelaniya
D.A.Tantrigoda, Sri Jayawardanapura University
K.M.Liyanage, University of Peradeniya
Wijendra Bandara, Rajarata University of Sri Lanka

V.P.S.Perera, Open University of Sri Lanka (OUSL)
C.A.N. Fernando, Wayamba University
S. Jayanetti, University of Colombo
P. Ravirajan, University of Jaffna
R. Mahanama, University of Ruhuna
Rahula Attalage, University of Moratuwa
Athula Wijayasinghe, Uva-Wellassa University
Queeni Soundrarajah, Eastern University
Ajith de Alwis, SLINTEC & University of Moratuwa


M.A.K.L. Dissanayake, IFS (Co-chair)
R. Weerasooriya, IFS (Co-chair)
R. Senadeera, OUSL/IFS (Secretary/Treasurer)
U.L.B. Jayasinghe, IFS
K. Tilakaratne, IFS


M.A.K.L. Dissanayake
I.M. Dharmadasa
R. Weerasooriya
J.M.S. Bandara
Abstract submission: 30 March 2011
Notice of acceptance: 15 April 2011
Full paper submission : 15 June 2011
Earlybird registration deadline : 15 May 2011


Institute of Fundamental Studies (IFS)
Sri Lanka

Additional Information

conference website