11th Greta Pifat-Mrzljak International School of Biophysics (CroSB2012)

Venue: Hotel Zora

Location: Primosten, Croatia

Event Date/Time: Sep 30, 2012 End Date/Time: Oct 09, 2012
Abstract Submission Date: Sep 01, 2012
Paper Submission Date: Jul 01, 2012
Report as Spam


The school is intended for young scientists at the beginning of their academic careers who are interested in the fundamental study of biomacromolecules: the structures of nucleic acid/protein complexes (ribosomes, viruses, chromatin), protein aggregation, conformational dynamics, folded and intrinsically disordered proteins, enzymatic activity—small molecule recognition, biomacromolecular interactions, bioenergetics and single molecule biophysics.
For more than 30 years, the school was chaired by the late Prof. Greta Pifat-Mrzljak, an eminent Croatian biophysicist and recipient of the American Biophysical Society’s Emily M. Gray Award, and is generally regarded as one of the best of its kind in Europe. Through the years, it has been attended by more than one thousand Ph.D. students and postdocs interested in becoming acquainted with the state-of-the-art in biophysics. The lecturers have always been of the highest quality, including top scientists in their respective disciplines and several Nobel laureates.
Therefore, in addition to the school’s inherent role in the transfer of knowledge and ideas, it has always had a catalytic role in arranging future research collaborations, joint projects, visits and postdoc positions.
With the legacy of Prof. Pifat-Mrzljak in mind, it is the intention of the organizers to position this school as a biennial event, complementary to, rather than competing with, relevant international activities, e.g., the Regional Biophysics Conference or the EBSA Biophysics Course.
Topic for 2012
Biomacromolecular complexes and assemblies (protein-RNA/DNA complexes, e.g., viruses, ribosomes; quaternary protein structures; DNA, proteins and polyelectrolytes)
The lecturers will describe related problems and discuss approaches to their solutions, e.g.:
• spectroscopies (NMR, EPR, FTIR, Raman, MS...)
• microscopies (fluorescence techniques, tweezers...)
• diffraction methods
• computational solutions, modeling and simulations

• Nenad Ban, ETH, Zürich, Switzerland
• Charles C. Cantor, Sequenom Inc., San Diego, USA
• Helmut Grubmüller, MPI-BPC, Göttingen, Germany
• Chris Oostenbrink, UNRLF, Vienna, Austria
• András Perczel, Eötvös University, Budapest, Hungary
• Rudolf Podgornik, FMF/JSI, Ljubljana, Slovenia
• Erich Sackmann, TU München, Germany
• Ana-Sunčana Smith, Uni Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
• Holger Stark, MPI-BPC, Göttingen, Germany
• Heinz-Jürgen Steinhoff, University of Osnabrück, Germany
• Antonio Šiber, Institute of physics, Zagreb, Croatia
• Iva Tolić-Nørrelykke, MPI-CBG, Dresden, Germany
• Alessandro Tossi, University of Trieste, Italy
• Alipasha Vaziri, MFPL, Vienna, Austria
• Gregory A. Voth, University of Chicago, USA
• Rebecca Wade, HITS, Heidelberg, Germany
• Anthony Watts, University of Oxford, UK
• Primož Ziherl, JSI, Ljubljana, Slovenia
• Bojan Žagrović, MFPL, Vienna, Austria

The Ruđer Bošković Institute (RBI)
The Croatian Biophysical Society (CBS)
contact: crosb2012@irb.hr

European Biophysical Societies' Association (EBSA)
Organizing Committee 2012
• D. Ramljak (RBI Director General)
• T. Vuletic (Institute of Physics, Zagreb; CBS Secretary)
• S. Tomić (RBI, CBS President)
• M. Glunčić (Physics Deptartment, University of Zagreb)
• S. Josef Golubić (Physics Department, University of Zagreb)
• A. Vidoš, A. Hozić, B. Bertoša (RBI)
Student Application Jury:
• V. Svetličić (RBI)
• G. Pletikapić (RBI)
Program Committee 2012
• Dr. Sanja Tomić (Chair)
Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb, Croatia
• Prof. Davor Juretić
Deptartment of Biophysics, University of Split, Croatia
• Dr. Antonio Šiber
Institute of Physics, Zagreb, Croatia
• Prof. Ana-Sunčana Smith
Cluster of Excellence ¬Engineering of Advanced Materials,
University of Erlangen-Nuernberg, Germany
• Prof. Bojan Žagrović
Max F. Perutz Laboratories, GmbH
Laboratory of Computational Biophysics
Department of Structural and Computational Biology, Campus Vienna, Austria
• Dr. Iva Tolić-Nørrelykke
MPI-CBG, Dresden, Germany